General

Topic   Scores/Reviews of movies you've seen recently.

savior
Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
(abandoned)
5-May-2004(#1)
This topic had many older posts which were moved here:

http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/43...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/42...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/44...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/45...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/45...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/45...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/46...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/46...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/46...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/47...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/47...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/47...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/47...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/48...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/48...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/48...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/49...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/49...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/49...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/49...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...

ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
9-Feb-2017(#2)
Got my ticket to John Wick 2 tomorrow first showing. Reviews seem to be uncharacteristically stellar so I might be getting my hopes up...


Stiler
Gold Good Trader
9-Feb-2017(#3)
Anyone watch Legion?

I have to say that it was fantastic in a weird way. The movie reminded me of 12 Monkeys but with obvious supernatural elements to it.

The cinematography was also through the roof great as well as the set design, both really pulled you into the characters world and made you feel just as confused as he was.
DefaultGen
GameTZ Gold Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (7) Has Written 5 Reviews
9-Feb-2017(#4)
Arrival - 7/10

Enjoyable movie but you know that feeling you get after watching Inception or Primer where you want to immediately watch the movie again and discuss the details with everyone around you? The ending of Arrival gave me the opposite of that. Looking in the previous thread, it looks like most of you agree it didn't meet the overwhelming praise too.

theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
* 9-Feb-2017(#5)
sinnie wrote:
> Husband and I watched Gotham up until this season. Then we were trying to relocate
> to another state, it fell through and we got behind on the episodes for season 3.
> I think we saw the first episode and stupid Hulu only keeps 5 or so episodes up for
> some reason. So I'm not sure when we'll get back to it. We always enjoyed it though,
> thought it was a very well done show.
>
>

Had a snow day from work and finished Season 2. The finale was a little lackluster but still entertaining for sure. The cliffhanger

...all the Arkham monsters being released along with a Bruce Wayne doppleganger...

sure was interesting. I obviously haven't seen any of Season 3 yet, but if I had to make a guess as to what that doppleganger thing was all about it'd be: Lincoln March. Considering the Court of Owls playing a bigger role, I could see them going that route. But they've probably already proven my theory wrong and moved on from that story. One thing I enjoy about Gotham, that I really don't enjoy in most other shows, is its frenetic pacing. They spend 2-3 episodes on self-contained stories and then move on, all the while threading the main plotlines throughout. That's admirable considering all the characters they juggle, so I can look past the few plot holes and questionable aspects they sometimes write into the show.

I can't wait to start Season 3. I hear there's more a) Jerome, b) Court of Owls and c) serialized storytelling - all things that I can solidly get behind. I got scared when Jessica Lucas' character Tabitha (Tygress) was left for dead but something tells me she makes it past the whole Azrael thing. After her role on Gotham, she is an a-list celeb crush for this guy haha
egg
Double Gold Good Trader
9-Feb-2017(#6)
The Last Samurai on Netflix

Not sure how I feel about horses being used in movies. I have an arbitrary rule that it's OK for historical movies but I'm not sure if this counts as one. If I look past that though the movie is awesome, so I give it a yes.
Kommie
Triple Gold Good Trader
9-Feb-2017(#7)
Can anyone who watches John Wick 2 tell me if the dog dies in it?
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
9-Feb-2017(#8)
I'm going in about 15 minutes. Review should be up right after.


kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
9-Feb-2017(#9)
Heard it was superb. Ill check it out this weekend
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
10-Feb-2017(#10)
John Wick: Chapter 2 - 7/10

Dog spoiler

He makes it through the whole film fine



So, first thing; If you're going to see this, you may very well want to re-watch the first one as this one picks up soon after and relies somewhat heavily on the prior-established assassin's lore the first set up. How you feel about this one I imagine could go either way depending on how you're going into it. By comparison to the original, it's not as good. I wouldn't say I was disappointed in it, but they did make the one major mistake that I was hoping they wouldn't, which is putting too much plot into it rather than just giving him a simple revenge motive and showcasing new ways to kill people awesomely. This one is rooted deep into the whole spy/assassin underworld thing, to a degree where I found it a little hard to follow the rules of their organization (maybe for lack of not being fresh on the first film). That's not to say I couldn't follow the bulk of the film; it just felt like I was missing something the whole time that was possibly set up in the first one.

As far as the meat of the film goes: The action was amazing and superb most of the time, but at some points felt a little stiff when Keanu was doing some running and hand-to-hand stuff in parts. Obviously he's kind of old now and it showed a little in his actions. Fortunately, those issues were far and few between. It did get a little boring at times when there were longer chunks of him just destroying waves upon waves of henchmen like butter, but it was made up for in spades when it came to the more personal fights. There were plenty of "Hooooooooollyy shiiiiiittt" moments; tons of cameos too. My favorite which most may not catch who he is was Franco Nero.

Ultimately, by comparison to the original it's definitely a lesser film, with a little bit less focus and a little bit of a sloppy plot, but the action and surprises more than made up for the majority of its shortcomings.


ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
10-Feb-2017(#11)
The Princess and the Pirate (1944) - 5/10

I can't as though I've ever seen a Bob Hope movie, but this was a continuation of my search for another good pirate movie. I knew going into this it was supposed to be a comedy, but I didn't really laugh at anything. I think maybe the humor on this was dated - as in it was probably funny in its time but I wasn't getting the references. I do think the core plot was decent enough though. I might have found more interest in this one if it wasn't a comedy and was played more gritty and straightforward. It's not a bad film; just a little bland.



Tad
GameTZ Subscriber 1000 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13)
10-Feb-2017(#12)
I love that movie actually, but I'm a sucker for classic comedy. I can understand the style seeming dated, cause it is. Hope was never really one of my favorites but I liked that one.

ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
10-Feb-2017(#13)
I didn't dislike it, it was just kinda meh. Obviously I'm lacking the nostalgia value as well.


Karaiya
Gold Good Trader Has Written 1 Review
10-Feb-2017(#14)
I'm an addict for trash Netflix horror films. I will use this thread to rate them.

Last Shift 7/10.

Young lady cops first night of duty at the last night of a police stations opening before they move to a new building. On watch alone while the sinister ghosts of a Manson like cult haunts the place.

The movie itself attempts to creat a mind fudge but falls a bit short of originality. However, the effecrs were well done and the acting was okay. For a Netflix film this is one of the better ones.

I recommend it if your bored and in the mood for a paranormal thriller.
Stiler
Gold Good Trader
10-Feb-2017(#15)
That sounds an awfully lot like Assault on Precinct 13, a bit with supernatural elements.
michaeld
Silver Good Trader
10-Feb-2017(#16)
Has anyone seen Brimstone? I want to see this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFk32lA8eqs
devans77
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 300 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
11-Feb-2017(#17)
Finn
GameTZ Gold Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Canada
11-Feb-2017(#18)
Hacksaw Ridge 6.5/10

I want to like it, the action was top notch all though maybe a little over the top at times (like 80's A-Team over the top). The movie jumped around a lot and I really did not like Vince Vaughn in the role he played, at first I thought ok, lets give it a shot but as the movie went on he just did not fit the role. A little to campy. Other parts of the movie played out like like a cheesy romance on the lifetime network. a little to Hallmark at times. I had higher hopes, it was not unwatchable but this movie is not one I would mention in the top 50 WWII movies, even top 100 would be a stretch.

SilverOwl
Quadruple Gold Good Trader This user is on the site NOW (21 seconds ago) Secret Santa
11-Feb-2017(#19)
Finn wrote:
> Hacksaw Ridge 6.5/10
>
> I want to like it, the action was top notch all though maybe a little over the top
> at times (like 80's A-Team over the top). The movie jumped around a lot and I really
> did not like Vince Vaughn in the role he played, at first I thought ok, lets give
> it a shot but as the movie went on he just did not fit the role. A little to campy.
> Other parts of the movie played out like like a cheesy romance on the lifetime network.
> a little to Hallmark at times. I had higher hopes, it was not unwatchable but this
> movie is not one I would mention in the top 50 WWII movies, even top 100 would be
> a stretch.
>
>

and i was looking forward to this movie. what a shame
TalonJedi87
Double Gold Good Trader Has Written 3 Reviews
11-Feb-2017(#20)
NightOwl wrote:
> Finn wrote:
>> Hacksaw Ridge 6.5/10
>>
>> I want to like it, the action was top notch all though maybe a little over the
> top
>> at times (like 80's A-Team over the top). The movie jumped around a lot and I
> really
>> did not like Vince Vaughn in the role he played, at first I thought ok, lets give
>> it a shot but as the movie went on he just did not fit the role. A little to campy.
>> Other parts of the movie played out like like a cheesy romance on the lifetime
> network.
>> a little to Hallmark at times. I had higher hopes, it was not unwatchable but
> this
>> movie is not one I would mention in the top 50 WWII movies, even top 100 would
> be
>> a stretch.
>>
>>
>
> and i was looking forward to this movie. what a shame

Same. I'm planning on watching it tonight. I'll go in with limited expectations now. Thanks.
Stiler
Gold Good Trader
11-Feb-2017(#21)
I saw it in theaters, I'd give it a solid 7/10, the action scenes are intense.

My main issue with the movie is how they skipped some huge parts which made no sense, like they made it seem like he went from training to the battle on Okinawa and that was the extent of his military service.

However in real life he went to Guam and Leyte (in the Phillipines) which had a huge affect on his health (he got tuberculosis while in Leyte) before he was sent to Okinawa in Japan. These deserved a place in a movie imo.

They could have easily made the movie a bit longer and got rid of some of the romantic side that took up a lot of the first half of the movie and made room for this.

For me in terms of war movies it's good , and the action scenes are some of the most intense/visceral you'll find, but it doesn't carry as much of a focus on the war as a movie/series like Saving Private Ryan, Band of Brothers, All Quiet on the Western Front, etc.

Finn
GameTZ Gold Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Canada
11-Feb-2017(#22)
Stiler wrote:
> I saw it in theaters, I'd give it a solid 7/10, the action scenes are intense.
>
> My main issue with the movie is how they skipped some huge parts which made no sense,
> like they made it seem like he went from training to the battle on Okinawa and that
> was the extent of his military service.
>
> However in real life he went to Guam and Leyte (in the Phillipines) which had a huge
> affect on his health (he got tuberculosis while in Leyte) before he was sent to Okinawa
> in Japan. These deserved a place in a movie imo.
>
> They could have easily made the movie a bit longer and got rid of some of the romantic
> side that took up a lot of the first half of the movie and made room for this.
>
> For me in terms of war movies it's good , and the action scenes are some of the most
> intense/visceral you'll find, but it doesn't carry as much of a focus on the war
> as a movie/series like Saving Private Ryan, Band of Brothers, All Quiet on the Western
> Front, etc.
>
>

I can see your point, the action was great it captured "war" pretty well IMO. But parts of the action were just over the top typical Hollywood. The acting in parts was decent, nothing great but there were some serious casting mistakes. This movie needed a little more polish and maybe if it had a different director it could have been good. Imagine if Tom Hank's or Spielberg got a hold of it? Had it not been for the action (obviously were most of the budget went) this should have been a straight to TV movie.

Again I loved the idea behind the movie, I wanted to really like it, but damn it sure leaves a what could have been taste in your mouth.


Stiler
Gold Good Trader
11-Feb-2017(#23)
I don't know if I'd blame Mel for that, he didn't write the screenplay for the movie, just directed it.

Bears
Has Written 1 Review
(abandoned)
12-Feb-2017(#24)
Lego Batman - 10/10

Haven't enjoyed a movie that much in quite some time, though I am biased as I'm a huge superhero fan. That said - the wit, the humor, the references, and all-around hilariousness was amazing. It's obviously not a Dark Knight-type of gritty movie so if that's what you're expecting (not sure why that would be the case though), that's not what you're going to get. But if you're looking for a good time, go watch and I think you'll enjoy. I seriously loved all the references and characters they brought in from other universes (I'll abstain from naming any for spoiler purposes).

Go watch!
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
12-Feb-2017(#25)
The Sea Hawk (1940) - 6.5/10

A mostly fun little high seas adventure; though I was expecting more yarrr matey pirates from this than what I got. It's basically a queen-sanctioned seafarer who is a semi-pirate with the queen's blessing. There's still some swashbuckling fun but there is a lot of politics in this movie as well. One of my bigger issues was that it was a little bloated and ran a bit too long; too many little subplots, that in all fairness they did follow through on all of them, but it did bloat the plot a bit. That and the main love interest, Brenda Marshall, looked disturbingly too much like Ted Cruz...it was painful to see her on screen. Also, for something that was filmed 5 years after Captain Blood, it sure has a good lot of similarities (well, other than just Errol Flynn) to the point where I'm curious if certain plot points weren't just stolen from the movie. Speaking of Errol Flynn, that guy was just fudging handsome and charming as fudge wasn't he? I don't think I've seen a Flynn film yet that I didn't like.

Any issues aside, it was still a mostly enjoyable little high seas fare. Just was hoping for a bit more pirating and less royal politics.


shadyfozzie
Double Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
12-Feb-2017(#26)
Lego Batman: 9.6/10
This movie was awesome.. everything about it was great. Will Arnett killed it, and the actual plot was pretty clever. Like Bears said above, the cameos and villains were great. The opening action sequence was hilarious (as Batman sings while fighting). I give it -0.4 only cause I thought (based on the commercials) that the JLA would be in it for more than a few minutes.. Otherwise, definite must watch!
kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
12-Feb-2017(#27)
John Wick Chapter 2 - awesome sequel but something makes it lesser than the original and Idk what it is. In terms of action, it is masterful though.
michaeld
Silver Good Trader
* 12-Feb-2017(#28)
I dont usually like dumb action movies but the first JW was good
Bears
Has Written 1 Review
(abandoned)
12-Feb-2017(#29)
shadyfozzie wrote:
> Lego Batman: 9.6/10
> This movie was awesome.. everything about it was great. Will Arnett killed it, and
> the actual plot was pretty clever. Like Bears said above, the cameos and villains
> were great. The opening action sequence was hilarious (as Batman sings while fighting).
> I give it -0.4 only cause I thought (based on the commercials) that the JLA would
> be in it for more than a few minutes.. Otherwise, definite must watch!

Haha yeah I was dying through the entire opening scene...too funny

I avoid trailers like the plague so I had no clue what to expect in terms of who would be in the movie and where the focus would be so perhaps that's why my expectations were far surpassed


Definitely looking forward to watching JW2 too yes
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
13-Feb-2017(#30)
The Crimson Pirate - 5/10

Meh. It was passable. I think there was a little too much jolly in this one's roger. There was also not a whole lot of action on the seas and a lot of time wasted with jokey chase scenes and stuff. I like Burt Lancaster and all, but he seemed a little fruity in this movie to the point where it was kind of distracting. The plot was kind of all over the place, but when it was good it was decent enough to make up for some of the wankiness. I didn't hate it, but I wasn't particularly excited to finish it and kind of just went through the motions because I was most of the way through. The sets and costumes were nice though. Some effort was put in; just not a good enough and clean enough plot.



The Spanish Main - 7/10

So far this is one of the better pirate / high seas movies I've seen lately. The beginning is a little hard to follow but by the middle, it makes much more sense and in the end it all wraps up pretty nicely. I'm starting to see a pattern though among these 30's-40's pirate movies; handsome pirate boards some ship with a princess or whatever onboard, takes her as treasure, she hates him at first then he ravages her with his charisma and she falls for him, some pirating ensues and all is good with the world. Stereotypical pirate plot points of the period aside, there was a lot of really good stuff in this movie, and some unexpected things as well. I was taken aback that they had a female pirate captain show up, who was actually rather well written for the time. Actually, all of the characters seemed to have their own personal arcs which was nice. The plot was a little janky at the start but ultimately it turned out to be a pretty fun movie and plenty of pirate and swashbuckling action on land and sea. I'm honestly not sure how on IMDB this got a considerably lower score than The Crimson Pirate. It's a vastly better film.



Anxiouz
GameTZ Subscriber 850 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
13-Feb-2017(#31)
The Founder - 8/10 - Nicely done and Michael Keaton has really revitalized his career. I'm not sure where he went in the early 2000's but he's back and really quite outstanding in this. His character really changes over the course of the film and he pulls it off really well.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
13-Feb-2017(#32)
The Violent Men - 5/10

Pretty standard far for a western I guess. There was definitely some level of uniqueness to the story in that the main guy did just about everything he could to avoid a fight until near the end. Not a particularly exciting or cinematic western, but it was ok. I couldn't shake this off feeling I had the whole film though; something just not well made feeling...almost felt like it was bordering on a TV movie or a long episode of Bonanza / The Big Valley. Not bad but nothing special.



ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
13-Feb-2017(#33)
Hacksaw Ridge - 6.5/10

Glad I caught this at the dollar theater and not full price. It's an ok film, but not great. Kind of reminded me of the Eastwood WW2 flicks in terms of storytelling and quality. Just like those, it was hard to look past the B-grade late 90's CGI effects and piss poor green screen. When it comes to settling on that kind of poor SFX, I'd rather they just not show the shot they're trying to convey with those effects at all or just do scale models instead. It just cheapens the whole movie to have really dated obvious effects. The tone of the first half of the film felt way too much like Pearl Harbor. The meat of the film was in the boot camp portion and once the war started. All of the in-between and prior stuff was pretty hokey.

It took until the last 40 minutes for the film to really shine. Honestly, I think if they had edited down the first 80 minutes substantially and made this a 90 minute total running time, focusing mostly on the last 40 minutes, it would have been a much better movie. In all honesty, seeing the real people give testimony pre-credits made me feel more emotion than the entire movie did. Hell, I'm absolutely going to see if I can track down the documentary source of that ending footage because that's really what I want to see. Taking the general complaints into account, it's still a pretty decent film that could have been great if handled better. Solid overall, but kind of crapty in spots.



ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
14-Feb-2017(#34)
Gold (2016) - 7/10

This turned out much better than I expected. For some reason, I seem to recall this not scoring well among critics so I was expecting something maybe just ok or bad. Matthew McConaughey did a great job selling his character in this riches to rags to riches, etc story. Apparently this is loosely based on a real life thing that I looked up after watching because I'd rather not know the whole story and how it turns out beforehand if I can avoid it. From what I gather, it's exaggerated a bit and tuned to be close to but not a docudrama or anything of the real events. Given some of it was clearly made up and if you can take it for what it is, it's a very good mostly true-to-life roller-coaster of emotions filled with ups and downs and disappointments, a drive for success, and all. I really liked it.

If I knew this was going to be as good as it was, I probably wouldn't have waited for the dollar theater showing. You never can tell these days tho, but yeah I enjoyed it. Rent it if you can.


ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
* 15-Feb-2017(#35)
xXx (2002) - 5/10

lol wtf. I'm baffled how this got a sequel at all. It's so stupid; like full retard stupid. I'd honestly say it would be so bad its good if not for it running a good 40 minutes too long. It just kept going. I spent more time laughing at how retarded everything about it was, which really was the fun part of the score I'm giving it. Everything was so crapty 90's X-treme, and all of the stupid ass cameos like Tony Hawk were so dumb and unnecessary. This movie makes xXx Return of Xander Cage look like fudging Shakespeare by comparison. What a dumb fudging movie, lol. I feel like maybe if I come back and revisit this in 10 years I might have a good laugh about it. Don't get me wrong, I'm not selling this blu ray, but my god, what utter ridiculousness. Was this even considered good when it came out? I seem to remember it kind of having a little cult following (obviously enough to warrant 2 sequels).

Do I dare watch the 2nd one? That one looked awful even from the trailers.


ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
15-Feb-2017(#36)
Kimi no Nawa (Your Name) - 6.5/10

Pretty decent cute little anime movie. At first it seemed like it was going to be standard fare body-swapping rom com crap, but then about halfway through it got more interesting than that. I think if it were a little shorter and ended a little sooner it would have been better; just ran a smidge too long for me. It did get a tad frustrating at the end, but it wrapped up fine. Not really my normal bag when it comes to anime as I prefer the more adult-oriented stuff (not porn) versus teen type stuff but it was still decent for what it was. Seems more like a bit of a chick flick tho; something you'd bring a date to.



Tad
GameTZ Subscriber 1000 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13)
15-Feb-2017(#37)
ENIX wrote:
> Kimi no Nawa (Your Name) - 6.5/10
>
> Pretty decent cute little anime movie. At first it seemed like it was going to be
> standard fare body-swapping rom com crap, but then about halfway through it got more
> interesting than that. I think if it were a little shorter and ended a little sooner
> it would have been better; just ran a smidge too long for me. It did get a Tad frustrating
> at the end, but it wrapped up fine. Not really my normal bag when it comes to anime
> as I prefer the more adult-oriented stuff (not porn) versus teen type stuff but it
> was still decent for what it was. Seems more like a bit of a chick flick tho; something
> you'd bring a date to.
>
>
>
>
Fixed.

kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
15-Feb-2017(#38)
ENIX wrote:
> xXx (2002) - 5/10
>
> lol wtf. I'm baffled how this got a sequel at all. It's so stupid; like full retard
> stupid. I'd honestly say it would be so bad its good if not for it running a good
> 40 minutes too long. It just kept going. I spent more time laughing at how retarded
> everything about it was, which really was the fun part of the score I'm giving it.
> Everything was so crapty 90's X-treme, and all of the stupid ass cameos like Tony
> Hawk were so dumb and unnecessary. This movie makes xXx Return of Xander Cage look
> like fudging Shakespeare by comparison. What a dumb fudging movie, lol. I feel
> like maybe if I come back and revisit this in 10 years I might have a good laugh
> about it. Don't get me wrong, I'm not selling this blu ray, but my god, what utter
> ridiculousness. Was this even considered good when it came out? I seem to remember
> it kind of having a little cult following (obviously enough to warrant 2 sequels).
>
> Do I dare watch the 2nd one? That one looked awful even from the trailers.
>
>
>

I remember liking the 2nd one more than the first. Try it, see if you like it. No Vin Diesel though.
kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
15-Feb-2017(#39)
Wind Rises

Great story, superb animation and music, pretty good english dub and a great story loosely based on a real person. The length and pacing could be annoying for some but for me it was more time to enjoy the scenery and details. It did bother me that the big thing that was expected didnt happen on screen. But it was solid overall, better than the last couple of Ghibli films.

9/10

dustin11
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
15-Feb-2017(#40)
kevolones wrote:
> Wind Rises
>
> Great story, superb animation and music, pretty good english dub and a great story
> loosely based on a real person. The length and pacing could be annoying for some
> but for me it was more time to enjoy the scenery and details. It did bother me that
> the big thing that was expected didnt happen on screen. But it was solid overall,
> better than the last couple of Ghibli films.
>
> 9/10
>
>

That movie was phenomenal.
TalonJedi87
Double Gold Good Trader Has Written 3 Reviews
* 15-Feb-2017(#41)
John Wick: Chapter 2 - Woo!/10 - I honestly went in thinking how oh how could they top the first movie in terms of action and man they made Mr. Wick perform such feats of relentless brutality in this movie that would even make The Joker go "You're a sick, sick, man, John. Seek help." From the well done action choreography to the refreshing setting of Rome, this movie delivered from me on almost all fronts. The story towards the latter half of the film did get somewhat predictable and you could probably see where they are headed from the 2nd act on, but that didn't stop me from craving more. One thing must be for certain though...


Every man or woman that we pass on the street, subway or bus station is a damn assassin waiting on that next contract text!



The reunion with Morpheus had me laughing too at one of the things he said that made me think about The Matrix. Spot on. If you're an action junkie, or just a fan of a well structured vendetta movie with some depth, mystique and assassin lore then you'll appreciate this film.
Sid_Ceaser
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 6 Reviews
15-Feb-2017(#42)
John Wick Chapter 2 - yes yes while not as good as the first, still pretty darn awesome. I did love the direction that they went in, and I liked how it actually showed what would happen if John followed a certain path. I can't wait for Chapter 3.



michaeld
Silver Good Trader
* 15-Feb-2017(#43)
Enix since you seem to be the movie expert here, I could use some re commendations. I dont like the generic movie that ends up all nice and neat. My favorite movies from the past year or two would be Hateful 8,. The Invitation, The Witch, Goodnight Mommy and Bone Tomahawk. Anything you could recommend from the past couple years or movies that are coming out soon?
MikeyWhoa
GameTZ Subscriber Double Gold Good Trader
15-Feb-2017(#44)
michaeld wrote:
> Enix since you seem to be the movie expert here, I could use some re commendations.
> I dont like the generic movie that ends up all nice and neat. My favorite movies
> from the past year or two would be Hateful 8,. The Invitation, The Witch, Goodnight
> Mommy and Bone Tomahawk. Anything you could recommend from the past couple years
> or movies that are coming out soon?

You and I should be movie friends. You have similar tastes in horror/thriller films. The Invitation is criminally underrated, and The Witch should've been nominated for an Oscar.


theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
* 15-Feb-2017(#45)
After suggestion from Mikey, I did indeed watch The Witch and I agree, that movie is fantastic. Slow burn for sure - just the way I like it. I'd need to re-watch it to know what my number score is for it though.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
15-Feb-2017(#46)
The consensus here generally seems to be that most people don't agree with my reviews, so you might be getting recommendations you won't like...but here are some movies for 2014-2017 that might fit that bill. I marked the ones most fitting to similar tones and non-standard endings and whatnot with bold.

Gold (2016) - Aside from the very last minute scene, it was basically a non hollywoodish bow-wrapped story - a lot of downs and some ups, etc. they did put a little bow on at the end tho. It was needed IMO. Not a bloody Tarantino-ish movie though.
Silence (2016) - I gave this a 5/10 personally, but it definitely fits your bill for not wrapping up all nicely. It doesn't really have a very specifically defined beginning/end.
Deepwater Horizon (2016) - I don't know if you can say there was a wrap up or happy ending to this as it just details the tragedy on the oil platform...but I mean, people survived and its a true story. Another non-Tarantino ish one; just a docudrama.
A Monster Calls (2016) - If you saw my review, this movie emotionally devastated me for some reason. I don't believe this had a typical ending if I recall right. Even tho not a violent type of movie (it's more a dark kids drama), I thought it was excellent anyways. It won't fit with the rest of the list but I can't not mention it.
Blood Father (2016) - I can't remember exactly how this one ended, but I think if I recall correctly, this was something more like H8 ish.
Free State of Jones (2016) - I suppose this could be categorized as such...I think. I'm having trouble remember how a lot of these ended. I think this might fit. I loved it personally.
Birth of a Nation (2016) - If you can get past the total troll of a title and the overly prophetic opening scene, I thought it was an excellent slave revolt movie. Felt pretty in line with something like the rawness of H8.
A Hologram for the King (2016) - If I'm remembering right, this movie was very non-standard all the way through. It's very uneventful in just the right way. It's not like violent darker stuff tho from your example movies at all. This is more of a mention than direct recommendation.
The Trust (2016) - For a Nic Cage film, it had a very Tarantino feel to it. It's not like top tier but I thought it was good. Felt similar kinda to Reservoir Dogs in tone.
Land of Mine (2015) - Excellent WW2 era film. Pretty fudgeed up, mostly non-standard. Foreign language though.
He Never Died (2015) - I can't remember how this ended, but it was a rather different kind of little indie film with Henry Rollins starring. Don't expect high budget here, but they did well with what they had.
Fury (2014) - Another WW2 film. If I remember right, it was pretty gritty, dark and brutal and didn't have that nice little bow ending.
The Homesman (2014) - Tommy Lee Jones and Hilary Swank very non-standard western. I don't remember if it was particularly violent or dark but it was definitely different and if I recall right it was similar to Bone Tomohawk in the regard that it wasn't a Hollywood style western and was very slower paced about how crap was approached. ie. in Bone tomohawk, they didn't just rush out of town guns blazing riding their horses hard, they took their time to get crap ready and it took days to get place, etc. It's not the best western out there but it was pretty solid.
The Rover (2014) - I wanna say this one would fit your bill pretty well. Post apocalypse in the more grounded way, mostly non-standard if I recall. The Road meets Mad Max meets Payback.
The Raid 2 (2014) - Probably doesn't fit your bill for not wrapping up nice and neat, but it's amazing...so yeah.



ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
15-Feb-2017(#47)
I really liked The Witch, but I honestly think it would have been vastly better if there wasn't actually a witch.


TalonJedi87
Double Gold Good Trader Has Written 3 Reviews
15-Feb-2017(#48)
Justice League Dark - 7.5/10 - It's nice to once in a while watch a DC animated movie that switches up the tempo and change of pace like this one did here. It was refreshing to see Constantine take the helm and focus here as I feel he is an underrated and underused DC character. Speaking of underrated and underused DC characters, it was a damn nice treat to see Swamp Thing get some screen time and be of some use here as well! My only complaint would be that Batman felt almost completely useless here, but I guess that was the point. He was more so like how Logan was in
X-Men Days of Future Past. Rallying the unlikely heroes to do their thing while he provides mild support and back up. Overall, it's definitely worth a watch if you're interested in the characters and/or would like to see some variety in these DC animated films.
egg
Double Gold Good Trader
15-Feb-2017(#49)
Vegucated on Netflix. It was neat seeing normal everyday people converting to vegetarianism, and their perspective. The film gets a yes from me.
Sam
GameTZ Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Has Written 5 Reviews
16-Feb-2017(#50)
Spy Kids 3D - What a visceral, gripping, momentous. No amount of prose could be just for the endless pleasure viewing this cornucopia of a film has given me. To dispense a numerical score like a cretin would be a crime against art.

ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
16-Feb-2017(#51)
Bleed for This (2016) - 8/10

A real life Rocky Balboa true story, this one is. I don't follow boxing at all, but I did my research on this guy and this movie is legit and this guy Vinny Pazienza is fudging boss. If you don't know about his real life story, don't look it up and go into this one blind for a wonderful surprise. Such a great real life story and the movie did everything justice. The most unlikely guy to play this dude, Miles Teller, fudging crushed it as Vinny. I mean, hell, everyone did an great job. For a biopic, this is really well put together and tells the story well and everything is pretty close to 1:1 to the real life story even the boxing matches. Probably the only things not completely accurate are the timeline being condensed, and they made it seem like he never won a fight before his title bout, but guy was like 35-1 by then. Obviously this was for dramatic effect, but everything was really well done including how they spliced in some real footage into the film here and there and it felt seamless.



dustin11
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
16-Feb-2017(#52)
BFG 6/10

Started out interesting but then quickly became very boring and predictable. Nice visuals but completely average other than that.
egg
Double Gold Good Trader
16-Feb-2017(#53)
Superman Returns on Netflix

Brilliant movie. MUCH better than I thought it would be. I give it a yes out of 10.
KCPenguins
Gold Good Trader
16-Feb-2017(#54)
ENIX wrote:
> xXx (2002) - 5/10
>
> lol wtf. I'm baffled how this got a sequel at all. It's so stupid; like full retard
> stupid. I'd honestly say it would be so bad its good if not for it running a good
> 40 minutes too long. It just kept going. I spent more time laughing at how retarded
> everything about it was, which really was the fun part of the score I'm giving it.
> Everything was so crapty 90's X-treme, and all of the stupid ass cameos like Tony
> Hawk were so dumb and unnecessary. This movie makes xXx Return of Xander Cage look
> like fudging Shakespeare by comparison. What a dumb fudging movie, lol. I feel
> like maybe if I come back and revisit this in 10 years I might have a good laugh
> about it. Don't get me wrong, I'm not selling this blu ray, but my god, what utter
> ridiculousness. Was this even considered good when it came out? I seem to remember
> it kind of having a little cult following (obviously enough to warrant 2 sequels).
>
>
>


What's sad is a stuntman died making this crap fest.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
16-Feb-2017(#55)
Didn't one also die making the crap ass Expendables 3?


ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#56)
From Hell to Texas (1958) - 7.5/10

What a charming little western. The protagonist in this is rather unique. He doesn't want anything to do with killing and is very soft spoken and crap kind of like Desmond Doss in Hacksaw Ridge; he's very much a pacifist, and regrets even having to defend himself with deadly force. It's very different from the majority of westerns. It's kind of a more leisurely pace, and I love that only the "bad guys" are the ones who are aggressive towards the kid, while people who aren't part of the posse are very indifferent about it and treat him friendly like you would any guest. It's very refreshing to see that the townspeople and such aren't the cowardly or mean or stereotypical ones you often see. I also love how believably (and I hate using this word) diverse this cast is in terms of characters. Really, everyone is handled in such a well rounded way from the women to the townsfolk, to different races and crap. Hell, even the natives aren't just blood thirsty scalpers and have a sensible reasoning (even though they only make a brief appearance). I would love to see this story remade to some degree to add just a bit more violence and drama to it. Also, I really loved that last line from the 'hero' of this movie. It's a shame this isn't available in HD. I'd love to get a blu of it.

Side note: The title to this movie is so uncharacteristic of the movie. What a bizarre choice in title. I was expecting this to be a total bloodbath along the lines of High Plains Drifter.



Anxiouz
GameTZ Subscriber 850 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
17-Feb-2017(#57)
ENIX wrote:
> He Never Died (2015) - I can't remember how this ended, but it was a rather different
> kind of little indie film with Henry Rollins starring. Don't expect high budget here,
> but they did well with what they had.

I liked this quite a bit although I'm biased as a fan of Henry. The humor was pretty good and with so little budget it kept my interest. Just be sure to avoid the bank robbery movie Rollins did after this. It's a complete disaster.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#58)
Oh god yes, that movie was fudging terrible. The Last Heist.


Stiler
Gold Good Trader
17-Feb-2017(#59)
Sometimes Henry goes full on hammy in movies.

I liked the movie Suck and he was really hammy in that lol.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1323605/?ref_=fn_al_tt...

It's a very campy vampire movie about a band who makes a deal to turn into vampires to play better. Has a ton of cameos from musicians, From Henry to Iggy Pop, to Alice Cooper and Moby.

Also the head vampire in it is from the band Burning Brides and he made for quite a terrifying vampire as well as giving the movie its best song:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNJ9N_KvT0A
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#60)
I feel like Malcolm McDowell is exactly the same bad omen as Dennis Hopper; if it's late in his career and he's in your movie, it's almost guaranteed to be crap. And it's not like they're bad actors, they just don't seem to give a crap anymore and appear in the worst garbage.


theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
17-Feb-2017(#61)
Malcolm McDowell, to be fair, doesn't seem super interested in making movies other than silly ones nowadays. He's always seemed like one of those actors who makes one or two great films and then gets content with just becoming a b-movie legend.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#62)
No Name on the Bullet (1959) - 8/10

Maybe he didn't come for anyone...maybe he came for us all. I love it. It's like a whodunnit but with a nice little twist to it. The whole thing feels like a long Twilight Zone episode. I honestly couldn't peg who was going to get the killing, if anyone, the whole movie. They did an excellent job of keeping the secret. The whole time, Audie Murphy basically played the role of death - everyone was afraid he was coming for them and some were willing to go to extremes to stave him off, but nobody knew if he was even coming for them, and the whole time the physician is trying to keep him at bay. It's very symbolic without shoving the symbolism in your face. It felt a bit like High Plains Drifter. I wouldn't be shocked to find out this inspired that movie. Excellent movie though.

On a side note: I think I've gone full-chain on these recent westerns. From Hell to Texas had a couple of people from The Violent Men in it, and this one has at least one guy from From Hell to Texas in it, lol.



ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#63)
theJAwwww wrote:
> Malcolm McDowell, to be fair, doesn't seem super interested in making movies other
> than silly ones nowadays. He's always seemed like one of those actors who makes one
> or two great films and then gets content with just becoming a b-movie legend.

I understand that to a degree. I mean, hell, Ron Perlman will be in just about anything too for money, but it feels like even he at least has limits and he appears to care that he's helping out indie filmmakers but only if it's not definitely going to be crap. Hopper and McDowell on the other hand, apparently just don't give a crap at all. And to that effect, their names/faces starring in your low budget movie no longer hold any credibility. They're basically watering down their own name untilt hey're just not viable in a real movie anymore.


Stiler
Gold Good Trader
* 17-Feb-2017(#64)
ENIX wrote:
> I feel like Malcolm McDowell is exactly the same bad omen as Dennis Hopper; if it's
> late in his career and he's in your movie, it's almost guaranteed to be crap. And
> it's not like they're bad actors, they just don't seem to give a crap anymore and
> appear in the worst garbage.
>
>
>

Are you denying the greatness that is Space Truckers?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IerJF2xKwuo

It even had Charles Dance playing the villain, and makes ample use of his Shakespearean background:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_gSbPg33Qo

Sid_Ceaser
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 6 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#65)

image

My friend Becky just unveiled the poster she was hired to make for the new Logan film.

so good.


ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#66)
Dennis Hopper, Stephen Dorff, Charles Dance, and Debi Mazar? lol. None of those people have ever made questionable decisions in their careers. winking raspberry



Sid_Ceaser
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 6 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#67)
I've been binge watching Walking Dead from the start. Up to about four eps into Season 3. Jesus, Season 3 is a serious slog. It make Season 2 feel like a half season.

One thing is for certain while starting over from the start - this is a terribly acted show.

And fudge Andrea, and double-fudge Lori. I'm so glad those doges are long dead.




Grenadier
GameTZ Subscriber GameTZ Full Moderator Triple Gold Good Trader Has Written 3 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#68)
I seem to remember 3 picking up speed pretty quickly once the new situations are established.
theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
* 17-Feb-2017(#69)
The second half of Season 3 was way better than the first half despite the terrible Season 3 finale. But it doesn't start being a competent show until Season 4 - and even then there are still lots of rough patches.

Season 2, save for the last 2 or 3 episodes, was garbage. Season 3 was mostly garbage too. Season 1 was the only real great season of the show. 4 was okay, 5 & 6 were good, and I like 7 the most since the first (though that is a divisive opinion for sure).

I agree, the acting has been real shoddy throughout. Though, I feel it's more on the directors/show-runners at the time. From 4 until now, the acting has been a lot less all over the place. Makes sense considering that's when Gimple took over.

All in all, Walking Dead is an incredibly over-rated show. It's fun to throw on for an hour of zombie-time each week - but a lot of the fanbase likes to act like the show is some sort of high-art and it falls juuust short of that by how inconsistent it is. It's no Breaking Bad or Game of Thrones, that's for sure. Comics > TV when it comes to this series.

ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#70)
I thought TWD was a crap show from the start. Season 1 was crap and it just got worse. Over-acted and insanely annoying stereotyping abound. I don't know how anyone ever liked it that it got so successful.


theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
* 17-Feb-2017(#71)
Season 1 was great save for the "just good" finale. It was legit like a Romero zombie film, just extended over 6 or 7 episodes (whatever it was). Romero zombie films, as I'm sure you're aware, also feature stereotypical characters, over-acted roles and simple plots. So if you aren't a fan of the zombie genre in general, I could understand not digging any of WD. However if you were a fan of the old-school zombie stuff, at least Season 1 of WD should have stood out for you.

As for its popularity - the positive word-of-mouth from the comics is likely to blame. This series just works so much better in the graphic medium as opposed to serialized TV. It got wildly popular for being like a "Romero movie put to comics" and that sort of got lost in translation when they decided to film it - considering its "source" material were movies that already existed to begin with.

So, comics hype + a zombie fan's first season got it off on the right foot. Not to mention the fact that zombie media was at its height the year Walking Dead was released - so that likely pushed it forward. It seems the zombie bubble is bursting though, and those casual viewers (who were never into zombies before this show) seem to be getting lagged out at this point. Producers have said they want to keep WD going indefinitely (kind of like Supernatural) but I just don't know how that's going to happen with how expensive this particular show is and how rapidly people are moving on from zombies.
Grenadier
GameTZ Subscriber GameTZ Full Moderator Triple Gold Good Trader Has Written 3 Reviews
* 17-Feb-2017(#72)
They're still pulling in 10-12 million viewers. It's down over last year, but still a huge hit, especially for a non-broadcast network. I wouldn't expect it to go anywhere any time soon.
theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
* 17-Feb-2017(#73)
It took a drastic hit in viewership this year, to the point that there were reports of the producers getting cold feet at a few aspects of the show. As in, they're starting to feel the backlash. There have also been contrasting reports about whether they toned down the violence for the rest of Season 7 or not after critical displeasure of the first episode.

I've said this for a while, but I expect it to make it to Season 10 or 11. So I'm not expecting it to go anywhere any time soon, but I'm absolutely not expecting it to last too much longer either.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
17-Feb-2017(#74)
Elser [aka 13 Minutes] (2015) - 7/10

Fromt he guy who brought you Downfall [Der Untergang], this WW2 true story is pretty good, but not great or quite as impactful as Downfall. The choice in storytelling here was to do a nonlinear telling of the story of Georg Elser who was 13 minute shy of killing Hitler with a time-bomb. The plot chose to start witht he event itself, then focus primarily 60/40 on his life leading up to the event with bits of the post-bombing mixed in. The best and most interesting parts of the film, however, were the just before bombing and the rest through his demise. I didn't mind the pre-story stuff to a degree but there was far too much focus on that rather than just telling it in a more linear fashion and showing his decline into making the choice to kill Hitler, but making his pre-bombing life tale just a smidge shorter. There was a lot of inconsequential stuff that happened beforehand that could have been left out. Aside from that, it was still a pretty good biographical movie.


Stiler
Gold Good Trader
17-Feb-2017(#75)
Sid_Ceaser wrote:
> I've been binge watching Walking Dead from the start. Up to about four eps into
> Season 3. Jesus, Season 3 is a serious slog. It make Season 2 feel like a half
> season.
>
> One thing is for certain while starting over from the start - this is a terribly
> acted show.
>
> And fudge Andrea, and double-fudge Lori. I'm so glad those doges are long dead.
>
>
>
>
>


It's a shame what the show did to Andrea. Her character on the show was NOTHING like her character in the comics

In the comics she was basically Rick's right hand, she helped keep everyone in the group together and she was a fighter. She was a part of the inside circle of the group and one of the most trusted members of it.

Nothing like the wet mop they made her character to be on the show, and it's a shame, they basically ruined a good character along with a decent actor(seriously, her role in Silent Hill is much more like how Andrea should have been) by sticking her with that terrible writing and character arc.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
18-Feb-2017(#76)
Tai Chi Zero - 5/10

Meh. Kind of a silly and stupid kung fu movie that rides somewhere between serious and parody. There are obviously a ton of references here I'm not getting because I don't watch a lot of kung fu and I'm not from China. Clearly these are two requirements to get this movie because there was a ton of stuff that was blatantly cultural and kung fu movie references in this. It was sort of a comic book Jackie Chan kind of deal with little CGI things sprinkled in and like Street Fighter game references and stuff. It was just kind of all over the place tonally. There was a moment I was hoping it would get better when they first introduced some steampunk stuff but then it just went back to being hokey with some dumb steam train monster machine thing. It would have been better to just have a more grounded villain and have the kid trying to learn kung fu end up getting taught and beating the steampunk guy without all the grandiose crap.


ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
18-Feb-2017(#77)
The Fundamentals of Caring - 9/10

Fudging hilarious movie. I usually don't even like dramadies, but man there was nary a scene where I wasn't laughing out loud, and that's a rarity for me and comedies; usually I just laugh internally or chuckle on occasion. I haven't laughed at a movie this much in a long time. This was solid gold with a whole heap of heart.


kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
18-Feb-2017(#78)
ENIX wrote:
> The Fundamentals of Caring - 9/10
>
> Fudging hilarious movie. I usually don't even like dramadies, but man there was
> nary a scene where I wasn't laughing out loud, and that's a rarity for me and comedies;
> usually I just laugh internally or chuckle on occasion. I haven't laughed at a movie
> this much in a long time. This was solid gold with a whole heap of heart.
>
>
>

I really liked it too, lots of chemistry between the leads.
razeak
Double Gold Good Trader Has Written 9 Reviews
18-Feb-2017(#79)
Lego Batman 9/10

willyum
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 300 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (17)
18-Feb-2017(#80)
ENIX wrote:
> Tai Chi Zero - 5/10
> ...
>

You summed it up pretty well. yes Tai Chi Hero was also meh to me...

Topic   Scores/Reviews of movies you've seen recently.