General

Topic   Scores/Reviews of movies you've seen recently.

savior
Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
(abandoned)
5-May-2004(#1)
This topic had many older posts which were moved here:

http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/43...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/42...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/44...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/45...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/45...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/45...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/46...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/46...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/46...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/47...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/47...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/47...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/47...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/48...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/48...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/48...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/49...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/49...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/49...
http://gametz.com/forum/Movies_Discussion/topic/49...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/Movies_Discussion/scores-reviews...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...
http://gametz.com/General/scores-reviews-movies-yo...

ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
15-Sep(#2)
Tag (2015) aka Riaru Onigokko - WTF/10 (or 4/10)

Weird ass Japanese movie my wife asked me to watch with her. She saw the opening scene on Youtube and thought it was going to be a horror movie, and for a bit I thought it was going to be a sort of Final Destination, Japanese style...and then crap just kept getting weirder. I had to go look up the plot summary to have any clue what was going on. It was just a series of dream states that got increasingly more bizarre but in a sort of Groundhog Day manner. The summary says she was slipping into different alternate realities, but man it was just weird and hard to follow for me. The opening was the best part of the film, but the whole film is distinctly Japanese, that's for sure. I just don't get Japanese cinema; it's rare for me to find something I can even process. So weird. lol
kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
* 15-Sep(#3)
ENIX wrote:
> Baby Driver - 3/10
>
> Unpopular opinion: I don't think Edgar Wright makes good movies, with the exception
> of Scott Pilgrim. I don't understand why everyone skeezes over his crap. Yes, I'm
> the guy who doesn't particularly like Shaun of the Dead...sorry. This movie is no
> different. It's just one giant plot hole to the next from the very start. And literally
> all of the characters are unbelievable and unlikable right off the bat too. It felt
> like Wright thought that his characters were all automatically badasses without having
> to earn it at all. Everything from their individual attitudes to the camera shots
> given to them just reeked of being made to be cooler than they actually are. It felt
> like Wright was trying really hard to make a Tarantino movie for some reason the
> way the characters act and talk, but it didn't work. It's a non-stop "look how slick
> everyone in this movie is", but it fails to ever get there like something more knowingly
> ridiculous along the lines of Shoot Em Up,or Free Fire, or even to some degree something
> like John Wick. It doesn't help that the logic of this world is all over the fudging
> place.
>
> And while I'm doging, I couldn't stand the constant running of music over every
> other damn scene. I felt like the whole headphones getup was just a plot element
> thrown in to be able to shill a soundtrack. It's like Sony decided they needed to
> push some of their old BMG library. I'm just shocked they used iPods instead of
> Walkmans, and I didn't see a Vaio either. I dunno man, I thought this movie was
> frustrating and stupid. I'm done now...feel free to berate me.

I like most of Edgar Wright's stuff. To be honest, I just like the Pegg and Frost duo and he does cast them a lot. Scott Pilgrim and Baby Driver were awesome IMO. Worlds End was very disappointing though
Jester695
300 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader This user is on the site NOW (4 minutes ago)
15-Sep(#4)
Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children - 6/10
theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
15-Sep(#5)
@ENIX you think Shaun of the Dead & Hot Fuzz are bad?

I think we've finally hit the point of no return.
shadyfozzie
GameTZ Subscriber Double Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
15-Sep(#6)
kevolones wrote:
> ENIX wrote:
>> Baby Driver - 3/10
>>
>> Unpopular opinion: I don't think Edgar Wright makes good movies, with the exception
>> of Scott Pilgrim. I don't understand why everyone skeezes over his crap. Yes,
> I'm
>> the guy who doesn't particularly like Shaun of the Dead...sorry. This movie is
> no
>> different. It's just one giant plot hole to the next from the very start. And
> literally
>> all of the characters are unbelievable and unlikable right off the bat too. It
> felt
>> like Wright thought that his characters were all automatically badasses without
> having
>> to earn it at all. Everything from their individual attitudes to the camera shots
>> given to them just reeked of being made to be cooler than they actually are. It
> felt
>> like Wright was trying really hard to make a Tarantino movie for some reason the
>> way the characters act and talk, but it didn't work. It's a non-stop "look how
> slick
>> everyone in this movie is", but it fails to ever get there like something more
> knowingly
>> ridiculous along the lines of Shoot Em Up,or Free Fire, or even to some degree
> something
>> like John Wick. It doesn't help that the logic of this world is all over the
> fudging
>> place.
>>
>> And while I'm doging, I couldn't stand the constant running of music over every
>> other damn scene. I felt like the whole headphones getup was just a plot element
>> thrown in to be able to shill a soundtrack. It's like Sony decided they needed
> to
>> push some of their old BMG library. I'm just shocked they used iPods instead
> of
>> Walkmans, and I didn't see a Vaio either. I dunno man, I thought this movie was
>> frustrating and stupid. I'm done now...feel free to berate me.
>
> I like most of Edgar Wright's stuff. To be honest, I just like the Pegg and Frost
> duo and he does cast them a lot. Scott Pilgrim and Baby Driver were awesome IMO.
> Worlds End was very disappointing though

I liked the Worlds End up until the ending.. I Was like WTF?
shadyfozzie
GameTZ Subscriber Double Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
15-Sep(#7)
Interestingly, in Shaun of the Dead, I never realized it but in the scene where Shaun meets his friend (I think it's his ex gf) in the field when they are traveling to the WInchester (5 and 5), Martin Freeman is with the friend.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
15-Sep(#8)
theJAwwww wrote:
> @ENIX you think Shaun of the Dead & Hot Fuzz are bad?
>
> I think we've finally hit the point of no return.

I didn't say bad; just not good. They were both meh.
theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
15-Sep(#9)
False.
whitefire
GameTZ Subscriber 550 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
15-Sep(#10)
I love Shaun of the Dead. I'm ok with Hot Fuzz and The World's End, but I don't think they're anywhere near as good as SotD.

ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
15-Sep(#11)
ENIX wrote:
> ...feel free to berate me.
shadyfozzie
GameTZ Subscriber Double Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
15-Sep(#12)
Did you ever see Run, Fat Boy, Run.. It was a semi-serious movie with Pegg.. I really liked it
theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
15-Sep(#13)
I hold SotD and Hot Fuzz right next to each other, but I agree The World's End wasn't nearly as good.
Anxiouz
GameTZ Subscriber 800 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
15-Sep(#14)
I've been re-watching David Fincher movies lately. I'm not so fond of the material he's been choosing but man, he can direct the crap out of them.

Zodiac - 7/10 - Interesting but unnecessarily lengthy.
Gone Girl - 8/10 - I dig how nutty this is.
Girl w/ Dragon Tattoo - 6.5/10 - Nearly every character is zany (like Gone Girl) but what bothers me the most is that after slogging through 2h20m of a really, really slow burn...it races to the finish all of sudden like the rubber-band AI in a racing game.
kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
15-Sep(#15)
shadyfozzie wrote:
> kevolones wrote:
>> ENIX wrote:
> |>> Baby Driver - 3/10
> |>>
> |>> Unpopular opinion: I don't think Edgar Wright makes good movies, with the exception
> |>> of Scott Pilgrim. I don't understand why everyone skeezes over his crap. Yes,
>> I'm
> |>> the guy who doesn't particularly like Shaun of the Dead...sorry. This movie
> is
>> no
> |>> different. It's just one giant plot hole to the next from the very start. And
>> literally
> |>> all of the characters are unbelievable and unlikable right off the bat too.
> It
>> felt
> |>> like Wright thought that his characters were all automatically badasses without
>> having
> |>> to earn it at all. Everything from their individual attitudes to the camera
> shots
> |>> given to them just reeked of being made to be cooler than they actually are.
> It
>> felt
> |>> like Wright was trying really hard to make a Tarantino movie for some reason
> the
> |>> way the characters act and talk, but it didn't work. It's a non-stop "look how
>> slick
> |>> everyone in this movie is", but it fails to ever get there like something more
>> knowingly
> |>> ridiculous along the lines of Shoot Em Up,or Free Fire, or even to some degree
>> something
> |>> like John Wick. It doesn't help that the logic of this world is all over the
>> fudging
> |>> place.
> |>>
> |>> And while I'm doging, I couldn't stand the constant running of music over every
> |>> other damn scene. I felt like the whole headphones getup was just a plot element
> |>> thrown in to be able to shill a soundtrack. It's like Sony decided they needed
>> to
> |>> push some of their old BMG library. I'm just shocked they used iPods instead
>> of
> |>> Walkmans, and I didn't see a Vaio either. I dunno man, I thought this movie
> was
> |>> frustrating and stupid. I'm done now...feel free to berate me.
>>
>> I like most of Edgar Wright's stuff. To be honest, I just like the Pegg and Frost
>> duo and he does cast them a lot. Scott Pilgrim and Baby Driver were awesome IMO.
>> Worlds End was very disappointing though
>
> I liked the Worlds End up until the ending.. I Was like WTF?

Exactly
whitefire
GameTZ Subscriber 550 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
15-Sep(#16)
I finally got around to watching Blade Runner. I watched the final cut version. I thought it was a bit boring. I'm going to give it a second viewing before I make a full determination. Maybe it went over my head, but I just didn't see the appeal. I was viewing it with an open mind though, and I don't mind 80's movies at all. It actually looked pretty decent.

DiamondDave
GameTZ Subscriber 350 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews
15-Sep(#17)
I'm still waiting for my copy to ship! Bastards.
John
GameTZ Gold Subscriber GameTZ Full Moderator 400 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13) Secret Santa
15-Sep(#18)
Yeah, I did enjoy Blade Runner, but would also admit that it is a bit "boring" at times. It flows too slowly.

And, really, there just isn't much "action" in it. If you go in hoping for a Sci-Fi Action flick, then people will be disappointed. (And, I admit, I was a little disappointed.)

Again, I enjoyed it. And I also read Dick's novel and enjoyed it (even though it is very different from the movie -- we're talking "loosely based" here). But it isn't what most people expect (nor what I expected originally).
DefaultGen
GameTZ Gold Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Has Written 5 Reviews Secret Santa
15-Sep(#19)
whitefire wrote:
> I finally got around to watching Blade Runner. I watched the final cut version. I
> thought it was a bit boring. I'm going to give it a second viewing before I make
> a full determination. Maybe it went over my head, but I just didn't see the appeal.
> I was viewing it with an open mind though, and I don't mind 80's movies at all. It
> actually looked pretty decent.
>

You didn't miss anything. If you're think Blade Running is kind of boring, think it maybe went over your head, and just don't see the appeal, you're with the rest of us raspberry It sure looks cool though.

Jester695
300 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader This user is on the site NOW (4 minutes ago)
15-Sep(#20)
John wrote:
> Yeah, I did enjoy Blade Runner, but would also admit that it is a bit "boring"
> at times. It flows too slowly.
>
> And, really, there just isn't much "action" in it. If you go in hoping for a Sci-Fi
> Action flick, then people will be disappointed. (And, I admit, I was a little
> disappointed.)
>
> Again, I enjoyed it. And I also read Dick's novel and enjoyed it (even though it
> is very different from the movie -- we're talking "loosely based" here). But it
> isn't what most people expect (nor what I expected originally).
>

I'm not understanding why people would go in expecting something else. I saw it in the late 80s I guess. Never thought it was an action movie like Aliens (or the like) before I watched it.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
15-Sep(#21)
It's a very slow detective movie set in the future. That's how I sell it to everyone who hasn't seen it. If you like it, you'll want to know more and re-watch multiple times to pick up on the subtle details...of which there are tons. If it's not your bag, then it's not your bag. There is a reason why it was widely panned and failed when it came out. It's not an everyone film.
theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
15-Sep(#22)
The reason people nowadays expect more than a pulp detective story is because they see "sci fi" & "Harrison Ford" and their minds automatically think "Star Wars." The majority people I've heard talk about it will say something like "yeah it was okay but it was no Star Wars." It was probably a bit different in the 80s.

I still need to see it if I wanna see the sequel. Though, and it may only be because I've never seen all of the original, but the trailer for the new movie that played before IT looked boring.
John
GameTZ Gold Subscriber GameTZ Full Moderator 400 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13) Secret Santa
15-Sep(#23)
theJAwwww wrote:
> [...] but the trailer for the new movie that played before IT looked boring.

"Well, it's no Star Wars..."

wink
Grenadier
GameTZ Subscriber GameTZ Full Moderator Triple Gold Good Trader Has Written 3 Reviews
* 15-Sep(#24)
theJAwwww wrote:
> The reason people nowadays expect more than a pulp detective story is because they
> see "sci fi" & "Harrison Ford" and their minds automatically think "Star Wars." The
> majority people I've heard talk about it will say something like "yeah it was okay
> but it was no Star Wars." It was probably a bit different in the 80s.

No, it was exactly like that in the 80's. Blade Runner was NOT initially well received. Reviews were mixed, and people didn't seem to get it. It's one of those movies that was appreciated far more as time went on and they could understand it more. I think Harrison Ford being the lead worked against it too, as people did expect more Star Wars and Indiana Jones levels of adventure, and that's not what this movie is. But it came out a year after Raiders of the Lost Ark, and a year before Return of the Jedi. Ford was the guy for big budget, mass audience, escapist movies, and a lot of people didn't know what to make of him being in this R-Rated movie with a slow pace and hard edges to it.

The other thing that probably hurts it for a first-time viewer in 2017 is that a lot of what it did visually was innovative back in 1982, but has since been imitated to death. So what was at one time fresh and new now looks far less so, if you don't take into account when it came out compared to it's later imitators.
whitefire
GameTZ Subscriber 550 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
15-Sep(#25)
I'm watching The Ninth Gate. I love this film. Honestly, if I'm viewing it objectively, it's probably a 7/10, tops, but my personal score is a 10/10.

Jester695
300 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader This user is on the site NOW (4 minutes ago)
15-Sep(#26)
whitefire wrote:
> I'm watching The Ninth Gate. I love this film. Honestly, if I'm viewing it objectively,
> it's probably a 7/10, tops, but my personal score is a 10/10.
>
>

I've always liked the style of that one too.
Stiler
Gold Good Trader
15-Sep(#27)
Blade Runner on 4k/HDR looks bloody AMAZING, I legit can't believe it's as old as it is.

The detail and colors are just, the best I've ever seen it look.

This movie should show why Practical effects>CGI so much. If it were made with cgi so many of the elements would have been digital instead of models and other things that have tiny little details you just don't get from digital elements that are limited to the resolutions of their era.

The movie itself, I can see why some people might not like it, It's focused on the characters and story rather then action and other elements.

razeak
Double Gold Good Trader Has Written 9 Reviews
16-Sep(#28)
I really enjoyed the new It. Some of the dialog was out of place and Pennywise could have had a little more charisma. 9/10
Feeb
GameTZ Subscriber Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
16-Sep(#29)
Life- 7/10

This one made me very uncomfortable- some really awful deaths in space and just a general feeling of hopelessness.

I hugged a puppy when it ended.
Foxhack
GameTZ Subscriber 300 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (7)
* 16-Sep(#30)
Feeb wrote:
> Life- 7/10
>
> This one made me very uncomfortable- some really awful deaths in space and just a
> general feeling of hopelessness.
>
> I hugged a puppy when it ended.

That movie with Martin Lawrence and Eddie Murphy?

:P

I saw It yesterday. I liked it.

Now, though, I have this thing to work on for the next 45ish days.
Osiris
300 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
* 16-Sep(#31)
Beatriz at Dinner - 2/10
just pointless, unfathomable ending, not even quirky enough to merit the effort
whitefire
GameTZ Subscriber 550 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
16-Sep(#32)
Foxhack wrote:
> Feeb wrote:
>> Life- 7/10
>>
>> This one made me very uncomfortable- some really awful deaths in space and just
> a
>> general feeling of hopelessness.
>>
>> I hugged a puppy when it ended.
>
> That movie with Martin Lawrence and Eddie Murphy?

Gimme suma yo cohnbread, boy.


Feeb
GameTZ Subscriber Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
16-Sep(#33)
Foxhack wrote:
> Feeb wrote:
>> Life- 7/10
>>
>> This one made me very uncomfortable- some really awful deaths in space and just
> a
>> general feeling of hopelessness.
>>
>> I hugged a puppy when it ended.
>
> That movie with Martin Lawrence and Eddie Murphy?
>
> :P
>
> I saw It yesterday. I liked it.
>
> (secure)">this thing to work on for the next 45ish days.

This one had an alien named Calvin and the sexiest British woman on earth.
JD
350 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
16-Sep(#34)
Feeb wrote:
> Foxhack wrote:
>> Feeb wrote:
> |>> Life- 7/10
> |>>
> |>> This one made me very uncomfortable- some really awful deaths in space and just
>> a
> |>> general feeling of hopelessness.
> |>>
> |>> I hugged a puppy when it ended.
>>
>> That movie with Martin Lawrence and Eddie Murphy?
>>
>> :P
>>
>> I saw It yesterday. I liked
>>
>> (secure)">this thing to work on for the next 45ish days.
>
> This one had an alien named Calvin and the sexiest British woman on earth.

What? No hobbes?
razeak
Double Gold Good Trader Has Written 9 Reviews
16-Sep(#35)
Scouts Guide to the Zombie Apocalypse 7.5/10

sinnie
GameTZ Subscriber 550 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Secret Santa
17-Sep(#36)
Ozark (netflix) 9/10 - it's like Breaking Bad but in Missouri

DefaultGen
GameTZ Gold Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Has Written 5 Reviews Secret Santa
17-Sep(#37)
It 6/10

I thought it was pretty good. The first scene with Pennywise was great. He got less scary as the movie went on, to the point where the theater was laughing at how ridiculous his CG wobbles were. I like the 80s coming of age Goonies stuff, I just wish the horror was a little more effective. Still, so much horror is just terrible so I'm happy this wasn't.

kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
17-Sep(#38)
DefaultGen wrote:
> It 6/10
>
> I thought it was pretty good. The first scene with Pennywise was great. He got less
> scary as the movie went on, to the point where the theater was laughing at how ridiculous
> his CG wobbles were. I like the 80s coming of age Goonies stuff, I just wish the
> horror was a little more effective. Still, so much horror is just terrible so I'm
> happy this wasn't.
>
>

I just watched it and found it to be the exact opposite. I thought it wasnt scary at all at first and got a bit better down the road. It wasnt really that scary but it had some pretty good moments and jump scares. Id give it an 8.5
razeak
Double Gold Good Trader Has Written 9 Reviews
17-Sep(#39)
I felt it grew scarier as the film progressed.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
17-Sep(#40)
The first scene with Pennywise was the best part of the film, from there on out, it was mostly snoresville and then the silly looking steadycam dancing scene and the marionette walking was neat but beyond that sleepy time.
whitefire
GameTZ Subscriber 550 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
* 17-Sep(#41)
ENIX wrote:
> The first scene with Pennywise was the best part of the film, from there on out,
> it was mostly snoresville and then the silly looking steadycam dancing scene and
> the marionette walking was neat but beyond that sleepy time.

I thought the projector scene was pretty cool. It felt a little

Sinisterish

, but I still thought it was pretty good.

ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
17-Sep(#42)
It felt stupid to me, and looked like piss poor 3D exclusive obvious-CGI like that one scene in Fury Road where the kinda crapty looking CGi steering wheel comes at the screen. I bet it works as intended in like IMAX 3D but in the 2D showing it looked retarded.
whitefire
GameTZ Subscriber 550 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
* 17-Sep(#43)
I liked it, but I will admit that I didn't have my glasses on. I see ok without them but can't really see detail too well.

kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
18-Sep(#44)
Regarding IT:


I thought the dancing scene was pretty stupid and to be honest I didnt love the initial sewer scene. Pennywise was portrayed too scary to "invite" a little boy and gain his trust. It was ok but I prefer the mini-series version. The new one showing the kids arm getting bitten off was amazing though. The projector scene was awesome, in fact, most of the pennywise moments in the last half of the film were actually pretty neat.

I really liked the final bout and the ending. The film kept enough of the source material without getting into the stupid stuff in the original show or, from what Ive been told, the book. I am very afraid of IT having a 2nd chapter though, I know its in the source but IMO its the worst part of the original show and again, from what ive been told, it does get kinda stupid in the book as well. Im not really looking forward to chapter 2 tbh. Hopefully they come out with a cool script that is not too true to the source.

Feeb
GameTZ Subscriber Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
18-Sep(#45)
X-Men: Apocalypse

6/10- I'm not a huge Xmen fan I usually take it a little easier on these films because I miss the inconsistencies most fans hate- but being into the xmen in the early and mid 90s really made absolutely dislike the casting for night crawler and cyclops. The way nightcrawler is kind of a silly sissy sucks. The quicksilver scenes were awesome and I really like fassbenders portrayal of Magneto but damn that's some sad crap. The story was pretty cool but got so far behind the denouement seemed super rushed.

Worth a watch but I'm starting to tire on these super depressing super hero flicks. Again, after this one I hugged a puppy and my daughter.
Stiler
Gold Good Trader
18-Sep(#46)
kevolones wrote:
> Regarding IT:
>
> ...

The Mini series was more book accurate, especially when it came to Pennywise and the characters of Ben/Mike.

However the mini series (and movie) both gloss over a lot of things , mainly the Bowers gang which has a lot more backstory to some of them, like Patrick (he's the one with long'ish hair in the movie that

goes missing first and you see him on the poster)

) who is even crazier then Henry in the book, he's a straight up psychopatch.

Plus there's a lot of things they never got into from the book in the mini series or movie when it came to Pennywise , where he came from, other characters, etc.

As far as the second part, if you are referring to the

Spider, that is a part of the book. Though hopefully they can make it look more other-wordly and let him talk, cause that was what ruined it imo, it went from being a creepy sadistic Clown to be a mute "monster" that didn't feel nearly as threatening In the book the "spider" is just meant to be what humans can comprehend as close as it's "true" form, it's kind of like Lovecraft in the sense of it's true form can't be seen by our minds, and the spider is simply the closest things that we can see for it's true form. So it's something they have some wiggle room on.


theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
18-Sep(#47)
Book accuracy aside, the movie is way better than the mini series. Not as scary as it was hyped to be, but a great movie. Will review more in depth eventually.
Scott
GameTZ Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Has Written 1 Review
18-Sep(#48)
Good Will Hunting - 7.5/10

This is a movie I've been wanting to see for a long time, and finally got around to it. 7 felt too low but 8 felt too high, so 7.5 it is. This is a prime example of a moving with too much unnecessary swearing. I understand I'm more on the conservative side when it comes to things like this, and I can look past some swearing and enjoy a movie anyway, but this movie just piled it on unnecessarily. It just doesn't feel very authentic too me, not many people swear that much in casual conversation/everyday life. Anyway, just had to point that out. I wasn't a huge fan of Will's character. I mostly disliked him at first, but learning about his past made me more forgiving of his character. Chuckie was just annoying, didn't care for him at all. The "how do you like them apples" scene was extremely corny, unless this movie is where that saying originated, then it was ok I guess. What made the movie worth watching was Sean's character. Robin Williams delivered an incredible performance, most notably his monologue on the bench. I really liked the way he talked about his wife, it hit home in a lot of ways with mine and my wife's relationship. I liked his character enough that I was able to overlook other things I wasn't too crazy about, and was able to enjoy/appreciate Will's breakthrough in the end. I don't really understand Chuckie's thing about showing up at Will's house one morning and he's gone, and it makes him happy, and then they end the movie with that. Why would that make him happy? Why can't it just be that Will overcomes his issues and gets a (local) job where he can put his gifts to good use? Why does he have to leave?
Scott
GameTZ Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Has Written 1 Review
18-Sep(#49)
Osiris wrote:
> Hidden Figures 9/10 good cast, compelling story. Bathroom breaks are critical!

Saw this one recently and I concur!
theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
18-Sep(#50)
As someone who has lived in and around Boston all my life, I can assure you it had the appropriate amount of cussing haha
willyum
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 300 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (17) Secret Santa
18-Sep(#51)
Started watching Avatar: The Last Airbender (cartoon, not the movie). It's much better than I expected it to be.

theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
* 19-Sep(#52)
Ouija: Origin of Evil 4/10 - Not worth a long write up. Watched this with my gf's brother to pass some time. 4 points go toward the decently short length, competently framed shots, 1 or 2 cool lighting tricks and no overly-offensive acting performances. Otherwise it was an absolute fart in church. Not scary, not an origin, packed full of every single horror cliche from "stare in the mirror too long" or "is there someone behind the shower curtain?" to "creepy doll on bed," "creepy little kid with wide mouth" or "someone caught off guard by possessed person crawling on wall." It wasn't "funny" bad either, more "boring" bad - which is the worst.
Jester695
300 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader This user is on the site NOW (4 minutes ago)
19-Sep(#54)
The Believer - 5/10
The Lost City of Z - 7/10
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
19-Sep(#55)
Anti Matter (2016) - 3/10

One immediate problem I had with this movie was a post-production mistake of re-dubbing the voices over the existing film. It was distracting because everyone's voice was louder than the background sounds and it sounded like they were all talking into a microphone; nobody sounded like they were speaking inside the world, and it made everything seem wooden and strange. There's also a lot of dead space filling up time in the movie; it's just not very well edited to make sure it's lean. As for the plot itself, the idea is fine but the execution is also kind of sloppy. They try to be too coy about an obvious plot point, which just makes it more obvious. It doesn't help that the acting is too obvious too. There's subtle "these people I know are acting a little strange" and then there's just flat out obvious, which is what happens here...only lending to the obvious plot point being more obvious. Skip to an hour later for the big reveal and it was exactly what you thought it was. On top of taking all that time to get to the obvious, they have all the padding of too many little sub-subjects they want to address along the way. Again, it just wasn't lean or focused at all, in an attempt to try to dance around and make it seem smarter than it is. I dunno; the ideas here are fine, but as I watched it, I thought of at least 2 better and far more interesting ways this could have gone...assuming the acting wasn't crap and the editing was leaner. I was really rooting for this to be the next Looper, or Synchronicity, or Predestination, but unfortunately I can't possibly recommend this.

ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
19-Sep(#56)
It Comes at Night - 7/10

Man, if not for the non-ending, I would have easily given this an 8/10. They definitely did a LOT with very little. The moral of the story here is to never help anyone; no good deed goes unpunished winking raspberry Really my biggest problem with the ending is the lack of any real closure. I would have rather they just went the route of The Mist - at least that would have been something. I'm just bothered by movies that don't really start or end, even if the remainder of what is there is good; I need an ending if there's no real intro, or at least an intro with an open ending. Other than that, damn good movie. Very intense.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
19-Sep(#57)
Goon: Last of the Enforcers - 6.5/10

As good (or bad) as the first one, for better or worse. I imagine if you didn't like the first you will feel the same here. I liked it.
kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
19-Sep(#58)
I cant remember if I finished watching Goon 2. It wasnt very memorable I guess.
ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
19-Sep(#59)
I'll be honest, I don't remember the first one at all either, but I did like it.
theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
* 20-Sep(#60)
IT - 7.5/10 - This is a lengthy review and there are a few spoilers, so tagging it up:


This was by and far better than I was expecting and is my preferred version of the story, but no, it wasn't nearly as scary as it was hyped up to be. That said, it is still a horror movie despite some people claiming otherwise. It does have the "coming of age" and the comedy, but you were watching a different movie if you wouldn't classify this as horror. And as far as modern horror movies go, this was leaps and bounds better than most. I very much appreciated the Korean inspiration that was sprinkled throughout. Asians know how to make a creepy horror movie, I tell ya.

Bill Skarsgard was a great Pennywise the Clown. I do prefer this version over Tim Curry's iconic mini-series version because, quite frankly, it's creepier. I dig the voice, the posturing, the blank stare, all of it. Most of the effects, especially his movements, were very subtly terrifying. However, there were a few crappy visuals. One shot when he was climbing out of the projector screen looked like a CG lion, and when he runs after Bill the first time they enter the Well House (right before taking a spike to the face) was meh.

I do have a bit of a problem with the look though, as far as the story is concerned. While I prefer this over the Curry look, and while I do feel it's a lot creepier and lends to the horror vibe a lot better, IT appearing as an old Victorian-era clown does present somewhat of a logistical issue within the narrative. In the 90's mini-series, IT appeared as a modern-day clown - aka, a clown that a child would actually approach. Being used to the type of clown that Curry portrayed, any kid from the 70's/80's would feel comfortable interacting with Pennywise in the mini-series. Looking at this movie's version, there is literally nothing you could tell me that would make me believe any child would be duped into approaching Pennywise. One look at the giant head, sinister glare and creepy old-timey clothes, and I as a fully-grown adult would crap myself and run. So as far as Pennywise's look goes, it doesn't make a whole lot of sense why Georgie, or any of the past kids in Derry, would feel comfortable enough talking to him.

All the children actors were great, even if the Stanley character was underdeveloped and boring - choosing when to be pissy, when to be a scaredy cat, and when to man-up seemingly at random. Richie was easily the favorite of them, and his "And now I have to kill this fudging clown" line was the triumphant height of the film. Bill and Ben were great. Mike and Bev were cool enough, and their backstories helped their characters a lot. Besides Richie, I'd say the kid-actor who impressed me most was the kid playing Eddie. He knocked it out of the park. The bullies were alright, even if the main Bowers kid was annoying (and not in a character way, in an over-acted way).

For the most part, their "fear" scenes were great too. The kid who played Georgie was terrific, and the basement scene as seen in the trailers was still creepy even after having seen it before. The leper was a creepy visual, the headless kid was impactful, and Mike's visions of his burning parents was haunting. However, I had a major problem with Beverly's blood-sink schtick. I don't remember how accurate that is compared to the mini-series as I haven't seen it in a while, but 1) I've seen the "flood of blood" in like 62 horror movies and 2) the clean-up scene was really stupid. Also, Stan's "painting lady" went from the most subtly creepy image in the movie to the most laugh-out-loud worthy image in the movie. Keep it in the dark and in the background and it's horrifying, give its stupid CG alien-face a close up and it's immediately comedy.

Aside from the issues I already mentioned, another reason this isn't a straight "8" is the length. I understand the book is mega-long and to adapt it, it needs to be lengthy, but regardless - the movie was too long. It lingered a lot during the time between the Loser's Club's first trip to the Well House and their second. Just about every scene in between could have been edited to be shorter or cut completely. And then the time-jump only seemed to prolong the inevitable. Also, the LOUD sound cues during any scene that was supposed to be scary bothered me to an extent.

The story was great and, honestly, expertly crafted. Just a really good example of fine storytelling, despite the length and unnecessary scenes. I loved the third act, even though some of those effects could have been better and the last time we see Pennywise (his "fear" line) was super anti-climactic. Which is fine considering there's a whole second half to this story still to come, but that bit left a bad taste in my mouth. But the Richie line and the beatdown, along with the visuals of all those floating children, really made for a memorable ending. Good stuff.

Sid_Ceaser
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 6 Reviews
20-Sep(#61)
I'm binging Season 7 of the Walking Dead (the Negan season).

Jesus christ this season is moving so fudging slow.

And Negan is being totally overused. He's go so much screen time, he's already boring.

I'm up to the mid-season ending. I hope it shapes up in the last half. This is some slow ass crap.



theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
* 20-Sep(#62)
@Sid_Ceaser MILD SPOILERS (if you don't know the comics stuff) BTW

Season 7 is right there with Season 3 as worst of the series. Negan is great and Jeffrey Dean Morgan does great AS him, but it got to the point where every storyline surrounding him was so gosh darn boring, that it got obvious when the showrunners thought a scene of Negan talking would be all anyone needed to see. Which yah, totally oversaturated the character quite a bit. Even in the boring/bad Negan scenes, he was still at least entertaining - and it just made the rest of the season seem that much more awful.

I would have been done with WD after Season 7 if it weren't for the comic version of Negan breathing new life into the comic during, and especially after, the All Out War arc. I'm hoping with the upcoming All Out War arc on TV (that I believe will be the first half of Season 8) that Negan will breathe new life into the show too. However, to do that, they need to write better fudging episodes. If All Out War is crapty on the show, it's very likely I won't even watch the back half of Season 8. I'm that disenchanted at this point.

Sid_Ceaser
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 6 Reviews
20-Sep(#63)
I'm up to date with the comics (long long fan of the series before the show existed).

The stuff that has been written for the tv version of the show (stuff that wasn't in the comics) is atrocious. I don't know who this melting pot of writers are, but they are terrible. The dialogue is really bad.

and even stuff that kinda/sorta worked in the comic just doesn't work in real life. The only time I really liked Negan so far is when he makes Coral take off his bandages and Negan falls out of character for a few minutes. The rest is so over the top, I expect him to grow a swirly mustache and wear a monocle. It's going to be really interesting to see how they handle the Rick/Negan fight and the *change* that happens. I can't see it happening on the show - it will seem so abrupt. Gah.

Not only that, but at this point, the newer characters are such comic book-y characters it's ridiculous. Jesus is like an ultra-assassin. And the king is so cartoony it's laughable.

I'm in it for the long haul, but, man, this is the top rated show of all time? The dialogue is so fudging bad.



Stiler
Gold Good Trader
20-Sep(#64)
theJAwwww wrote:
> IT - 7.5/10 - This is a lengthy review and there are a few spoilers, so tagging
> it up:
>
> ...

A few things and differences between book/movie/mini - series.


The Beverly blood sink is straight from the book (and was in the mini series as well). Also Bev never got captured by Pennywise, she went down into the sewers with the rest of the group to kill it, which to me kind of felt like a slap in the face to make her character into a "damsel" in distress when she's generally considered one of if not the strongest member of the group in both the book and mini series, they didn't need to make her into such a cliched trope to get them to go down into the sewers at all.

Tim Curry's Pennywise is more book accurate, he was based on Bozo the clown and other clowns like that. Also he had no problem cracking twisted jokes at the expense of his food, he had a sick sense of humor like Curry portrayed him as having in the mini series. In this movie they played Pennywise much more creepy and less humorous.

Ben has Mike's background in this movie, in both the book and mini-series Mike is the "historian" of the group and he's the one who finds out about Pennywise and the history of Derry, not the "new kid" Ben (which makes little sense for him to do it imo). Mike felt really really under-developed in this movie, they literally could have took him out of the movie and it wouldn't have made a bit of difference to any of the story or characters. In the book Mike's parents aren't dead and he doesn't slaughter animals with his grandpa. The Bowers gang probably prey's on Mike the most of everyone, complete with racial slurs and all of that, even going as far as killing Mike's pet dog.

The Bowers gang themselves were a lot more of a threat in the book vs this movie. Patrick (the one that gets killed off early on in the movie and then you see his face on a missing poster) was the craziest of them, even more then Henry. He was a legit psychopath but that was all completely missing from the movie (and the mini series as well). On top of the fact that Henry see's both Belch and Vic die at the hands of It in the sewer when they go down to get the losers gang and basically becomes the scapegoat for Pennywise and gets blamed for all the murders, which was absent in the movie (but happened in the mini series).



Those are most of the "big" changes, the movie itself was fun and I have high hopes for Part 2 (especially since they are bringing back the younger cast for flashback scenes). Also they have talked about expanding on the more "weird" stuff that was present in the book but absent from the mini series (like Pennywise's backstory, what he is, where he came from, certain other characters that weren't in it), etc.

Anxiouz
GameTZ Subscriber 800 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
20-Sep(#65)
Watched the first episode of The Orville and holy crap was a disaster. 2/10 for effort but it was laborious to watch and we immediately removed it from our Hulu list when the humor never panned out. What a mess.
John
GameTZ Gold Subscriber GameTZ Full Moderator 400 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13) Secret Santa
20-Sep(#66)
I watched the second episode and, again, it was "ok", but I'm afraid that they are leaning too much trying to be Star Trek and not enough trying to be Galaxy Quest. I really want this show to work as a funny space show -- mainly because I just don't see it making it as another Trek.

That being said, I actually liked the second episode more than the first, so that's something. Even though...


I think the "people in a zoo" thing was way too obvious. The second that they were in their old apartment, my wife and I immediately went "they're in an alien zoo!"



Pretty sure that is a Twilight Zone episode from the 1960s... rolls eyes
Osiris
300 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
20-Sep(#67)
still not liking Orville much, but did enjoy the zoo solution. Show just not funny enough but will keep checking in.
Kommie
Triple Gold Good Trader
21-Sep(#68)
Sid_Ceaser wrote:
>
>
> , this is the top rated show of all time? The
> dialogue is so fudging bad.
>
>
>
>

Is it actually top rated or just 'highest ratings'? I stopped mid season 3 because it was so bad.
Sid_Ceaser
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 6 Reviews
* 21-Sep(#69)
Scott wrote:
> Good Will Hunting - 7.5/10
>
> This is a movie I've been wanting to see for a long time, and finally got around
> to it. 7 felt too low but 8 felt too high, so 7.5 it is. This is a prime example
> of a moving with too much unnecessary swearing. I understand I'm more on the conservative
> side when it comes to things like this, and I can look past some swearing and enjoy
> a movie anyway, but this movie just piled it on unnecessarily. It just doesn't feel
> very authentic too me, not many people swear that much in casual conversation/everyday
> life. Anyway, just had to point that out. I wasn't a huge fan of Will's character.
> I mostly disliked him at first, but learning about his past made me more forgiving
> of his character. Chuckie was just annoying, didn't care for him at all. The "how
> do you like them apples" scene was extremely corny, unless this movie is where that
> saying originated, then it was ok I guess. What made the movie worth watching was
> Sean's character. Robin Williams delivered an incredible performance, most notably
> his monologue on the bench. I really liked the way he talked about his wife, it hit
> home in a lot of ways with mine and my wife's relationship. I liked his character
> enough that I was able to overlook other things I wasn't too crazy about, and was
> able to enjoy/appreciate Will's breakthrough in the end. I don't really understand
> Chuckie's thing about showing up at Will's house one morning and he's gone, and it
> makes him happy, and then they end the movie with that. Why would that make him happy?
> Why can't it just be that Will overcomes his issues and gets a (local) job where
> he can put his gifts to good use? Why does he have to leave?



GWH didn't pile on the swearing. As a frequent visitor to Our Fair City (live 40 minutes outside of Beantown) this is spot on. And since Jason Bourne and Batman grew up in Boston - I'm going to let them use as many fackin' swear wurds as dey want, dood.

100% authentic. You want to hear Boston-accented swearing? Head down to Fenway during a game. Win or Loss, it's swear overload.

Chuckie totally stole the show. He rocked it. And the whole "how do you like THEM apples ..." didn't originate from this movie - it's a long-used phrase. As someone growing up hearing that all the time, it was fun to see someone finally use it in a movie. Granted, he set up "... do you like apples" felt a little forced, but I don't think he could have just tossed it out for those people who haven't heard the phrase. Maybe it's regional?

And the whole thing about Chuckie wanting to see Will leave: Will is a fudging wunderbrain. It is an insult to stupid-head Chuckie and all this Southie buddies who live their lives breaking rocks if Will wastes his amazing brain. Just like anyone that has a really smaht friend who pisses and moans and hems and haws about doing crap. Being lazy. Will has amazing abilities. I mean, I don't want him to turn into a douche-bag scarf wearing professor, but I don't want him to end up like Shawn either: missing his chances and settling on teaching at community college. (Note: I'm not saying Shawn tosses away his life by getting married, but that scene in the bar with him and scarf-boy establishes that Shawn didn't exactly go down the path he could have)

All of them want Will to pack up and take his big-brain and go do some incredible crap. Including chasing Skylar across the country. Otherwise he'll just be another mop sweeper or brick breaker in south Boston. All find professions, but not for Will.

I remember really loving this movie when it came out. I saw it a few times in the theaters, and I try to watch it once a year. Will's description of how he relates to numbers and piano players is perfect and really nails it. It's a language he can just understand.

He leaves because he found something in Skylar. He pushed her away and he shouldn't have. His buddies reassured him it was the right thing to do. Doesn't mean he can't come back, or visit, or whatever, but this movie happens right at that moment when his friends can't not say anything any longer.

Fun side note: that piece-o-crap car at the end belonged to an acquaintance of mine in high school. I've sat on the hood of that car in the early 90's.

edit just the other morning my wife came into the living room and said in her best Boston accent "Morgan! Stop jerking-off into my little league glove." Totally spontaneous. I love my wife.


theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
21-Sep(#70)
@Sid_Ceaser what I'm SAYIN haha. Boston is a foul mouthed city.
John
GameTZ Gold Subscriber GameTZ Full Moderator 400 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13) Secret Santa
22-Sep(#72)
ENIX wrote:

What was it? Looks like that site is getting a Hug Of Death. Can't handle the load.
Scott
GameTZ Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Has Written 1 Review
22-Sep(#73)
Sid_Ceaser wrote:
> GWH didn't pile on the swearing. As a frequent visitor to Our Fair City (live 40
> minutes outside of Beantown) this is spot on. And since Jason Bourne and Batman
> grew up in Boston - I'm going to let them use as many fackin' swear wurds as dey
> want, dood.
>
> 100% authentic. You want to hear Boston-accented swearing? Head down to Fenway
> during a game. Win or Loss, it's swear overload.

Fair enough, I'll just have to take y'alls word for it! Here's the thing though, tons of movies use excessive swearing like this, and most of them don't take place in Boston. I still think that most people don't just casually talk like that, so it's very off-putting and un-authentic to me when characters in movies do. This movie just felt like another example of that. I'll remove the "not authentic" criticism from my list, but I still don't like it.

> Chuckie totally stole the show. He rocked it.

STRONGLY disagree. His character annoyed the crap out of me.

> And the whole "how do you like THEM
> apples ..." didn't originate from this movie - it's a long-used phrase. As someone
> growing up hearing that all the time, it was fun to see someone finally use it in
> a movie. Granted, he set up "... do you like apples" felt a little forced, but I
> don't think he could have just tossed it out for those people who haven't heard the
> phrase. Maybe it's regional?

I've known the phrase for a long time, I just wasn't sure how far it went back. So if this movie was actually the first use, it was ok. But now that I know for sure that it wasn't, I'm sticking with my original statement that it was extremely corny.

> And the whole thing about Chuckie wanting to see Will leave: Will is a fudging wunderbrain.
> It is an insult to stupid-head Chuckie and all this Southie buddies who live
> their lives breaking rocks if Will wastes his amazing brain. Just like anyone that
> has a really smaht friend who pisses and moans and hems and haws about doing
> crap. Being lazy. Will has amazing abilities. I mean, I don't want him to turn
> into a douche-bag scarf wearing professor, but I don't want him to end up like Shawn
> either: missing his chances and settling on teaching at community college. (Note:
> I'm not saying Shawn tosses away his life by getting married, but that scene in the
> bar with him and scarf-boy establishes that Shawn didn't exactly go down the path
> he could have)
>
> All of them want Will to pack up and take his big-brain and go do some incredible
> crap. Including chasing Skylar across the country. Otherwise he'll just be another
> mop sweeper or brick breaker in south Boston. All find professions, but not for
> Will.

I get all of that, I just don't see why he has to leave them to do it. He had job offers in that area that he wasn't going to have to move for. He could have put his gifts to good use without abandoning his friends for life. Unless we're supposed to assume he'll just keep doing the same old thing if he continues to hang out with this friends, but that didn't seem to be suggested in the context of the movie, as far as I could tell.

> I remember really loving this movie when it came out. I saw it a few times in the
> theaters, and I try to watch it once a year. Will's description of how he relates
> to numbers and piano players is perfect and really nails it. It's a language he
> can just understand.

I loved that part as well!

> He leaves because he found something in Skylar. He pushed her away and he shouldn't
> have. His buddies reassured him it was the right thing to do. Doesn't mean he can't
> come back, or visit, or whatever, but this movie happens right at that moment when
> his friends can't not say anything any longer.

I was definitely on board with him leaving for Skylar, 100%, and I loved how they tied that into the "seeing about a girl" thing he got from Sean. But she didn't seem to be a factor at all from what Chuckie had said to him.

Scott
GameTZ Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Has Written 1 Review
22-Sep(#74)
The Princess and the Frog - 7.5/10

I like Disney movies like this where the prince and princess are together for most of the film, as opposed to some of the older ones that just focused on the princess. I liked the twist they put on the whole princess/frog story. The supporting characters were great, like Tiana's friend, the lightning bug, and the crocodile. My complaints were that the villain didn't really seem like that much of a threat for most of the movie, he was taken care of in the end way too easily, and some of the songs were pretty sub-par for a Disney film. Overall, it was worth seeing.

Scott
GameTZ Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Has Written 1 Review
22-Sep(#75)
Moneyball - 6/10

I'm not sure why I wanted to see this. I'm not a big sports movie guy (although there are a handful I enjoy a ton) and I really don't care for baseball either. But, something about this movie back when it came out interested me, and I had wanted to see it ever since. The fact that it was based on a true story kept me more interested/invested than I would have been otherwise. The plot was good enough that I cared to finish the movie and see how it all ended, but there were plenty of long/boring parts that made it a bit of a chore to finish. It's probably a better film than I'm rating it, it just wasn't my thing.

theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
* 22-Sep(#76)
@Stiler on the changes...


Thanks for the rundown

I agree Bev didn't need to be the damsel, would have worked better for Ben tbh. I knew Mike had Ben's stuff in the original, but I thought the new kid reading up on his new town made fine sense so it didn't bother me. Comparatively, Mike was more underdeveloped than he had been in the book/mini-series, but in the context of this movie, it worked fine. Just knowing his backstory and his schtick about overcoming nerves with that nail gun thing was enough for me.

I knew Curry's Pennywise was more like the book but I just enjoyed this version more. I thought he was still funny at points but yah, he didn't touch Curry's humor. He was more of a "prank" funny man in this movie, but all the pranks would also be horrifying haha

And I remembered the blood sink scene from the mini series as soon as I saw a photo of it in a review for this movie. The reviewera shares my opinion. Blood sink is fine, blood FLOOD is overdone to no end.

I fudging hate the space turtle/spider stuff so I'll probably like this movie more than Chapter 2 just by default but it'll be interesting to see what they do with it.


DiamondDave
GameTZ Subscriber 350 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews
* 22-Sep(#77)
Scott wrote:
> Moneyball - 6/10
>
> I'm not sure why I wanted to see this. I'm not a big sports movie guy (although there
> are a handful I enjoy a ton) and I really don't care for baseball either. But, something
> about this movie back when it came out interested me, and I had wanted to see it
> ever since. The fact that it was based on a true story kept me more interested/invested
> than I would have been otherwise. The plot was good enough that I cared to finish
> the movie and see how it all ended, but there were plenty of long/boring parts that
> made it a bit of a chore to finish. It's probably a better film than I'm rating it,
> it just wasn't my thing.
>
>

Think that's about my rating, maybe a bit higher because I don't enjoy Sports movies often and I did enjoy this enough. My kind of sports movies are Concussion, Remember the Titans and A League of Their Own, maybe Major League if I'm in the mood. Longest Yard. Field of Dreams, The Replacements, crap I like Sports movies more than I thought I did.

Moneyball's about on pace with the others I enjoy.
Sid_Ceaser
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 6 Reviews
22-Sep(#78)
Scott wrote:
> Sid_Ceaser wrote:
>> GWH didn't pile on the swearing. As a frequent visitor to Our Fair City (live
> 40
>> minutes outside of Beantown) this is spot on. And since Jason Bourne and Batman
>> grew up in Boston - I'm going to let them use as many fackin' swear wurds as
> dey
>> want, dood.
>>
>> 100% authentic. You want to hear Boston-accented swearing? Head down to Fenway
>> during a game. Win or Loss, it's swear overload.
>
> Fair enough, I'll just have to take y'alls word for it! Here's the thing though,
> tons of movies use excessive swearing like this, and most of them don't take place
> in Boston. I still think that most people don't just casually talk like that,
> so it's very off-putting and un-authentic to me when characters in movies do. This
> movie just felt like another example of that. I'll remove the "not authentic" criticism
> from my list, but I still don't like it.


The stuff coming out of their mouths feels like pretty genuine 20-something Boston talk if you ask me. Some people cuss. Some don't. Boston though - holy crap. Every other word taught is Boston Public Schools is "Fudgein'"




>
>> Chuckie totally stole the show. He rocked it.
>
> STRONGLY disagree. His character annoyed the crap out of me.


The mid-90's was full of Chuckie's walking around Boston: Irish whites dressed in Puma Athletics outfits with gold chains. You couldn't get off the T without running into a mob of them. I'm sure there are still some out there to this day in parts of South Boston (especially Methuen, holy crap dood)

He went 100% on that role. He was irritating but so fudging good.




>
> I get all of that, I just don't see why he has to leave them to do it. He had job
> offers in that area that he wasn't going to have to move for. He could have put his
> gifts to good use without abandoning his friends for life. Unless we're supposed
> to assume he'll just keep doing the same old thing if he continues to hang out with
> this friends, but that didn't seem to be suggested in the context of the movie, as
> far as I could tell.
>


He's in his early 20's. If he doesn't get out and explore now, he might not ever. It didn't bother me that he did what he did. They could have written in the script that he stayed in the area, got a great job at Sanders in Nashua and helped make missles or some crap. But this made a good ending: he gets the horse, he travels on to get the girl.

Made a good Hollywood ending, nothing more to me.



>> I remember really loving this movie when it came out. I saw it a few times in
> the
>> theaters, and I try to watch it once a year. Will's description of how he relates
>> to numbers and piano players is perfect and really nails it. It's a language
> he
>> can just understand.
>
> I loved that part as well!
>
>> He leaves because he found something in Skylar. He pushed her away and he shouldn't
>> have. His buddies reassured him it was the right thing to do. Doesn't mean he
> can't
>> come back, or visit, or whatever, but this movie happens right at that moment
> when
>> his friends can't not say anything any longer.
>
> I was definitely on board with him leaving for Skylar, 100%, and I loved how they
> tied that into the "seeing about a girl" thing he got from Sean. But she didn't seem
> to be a factor at all from what Chuckie had said to him.
>
>



I just think it was a bunch of things: stuff Chuckie said, Skylar, stuff Shawn said, etc.

There are little scenes in this flick that I absolutely cherish: when they go into a Harvard bar and Chuck's like "I thought there would be equations and crap all over the walls" and when Chuckie's little brother his gosspin' with Will and Skylar comes over and he does the "I swallowed a bug" and how he's talking about some fat girl.

The stuff with them in the car with the hamburger on layaway - it helped that the people in the car had history together before making the movie. It's a good thing Gus Van Sant is a low-key director, because I think they needed someone to control the humor, otherwise it might have gotten over the top.

I can't remember - is the scene with Chuckie telling the joke/story about the cat and the car in the film? Or is that a deleted scene I'm thinking of? Fudging classic scene either way.



ENIX
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 13 Reviews
22-Sep(#79)
John wrote:
> ENIX wrote:
>
> What was it? Looks like that site is getting a Hug Of Death. Can't handle the load.
>

20th anniversary of The Fifth element in IMAX
theJaw
GameTZ Subscriber Triple Gold Good Trader Secret Santa
22-Sep(#80)
I thought that just happened? Fifth Element was back in theaters at least around here a month or two ago.

Topic   Scores/Reviews of movies you've seen recently.