VideoGame_Discussion

Topic   Post your scores/reviews on recent titles you've obtained/been playing. raspberry

Guru
Has Written 16 Reviews
(abandoned)
7-Dec-2003(#1)
This topic had many older posts which were moved here:

http://gametz.com/VideoGame_Discussion/post-scores...



























DarkFact
GameTZ Subscriber 400 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews This user is on the site NOW (2 minutes ago)
10-Jan(#2)
Ooh
PizzaTheHutt
GameTZ Subscriber Gold Good Trader Has Written 3 Reviews
15-Jan(#3)
Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker {Nintendo Switch} 7/10

For the first hour or so I was having a difficult time deciding on whether or not I like this more on Switch with just one screen vs on Wii U and 3DS with two. But the fact I even had to debate that at all just means that this (and I guess every other Wii U game ported to Switch) proves that the Wii U's GamePad didn't change crap in the grand scheme of things like the way Nintendo desperately tried to convince us it would.

I dug out the Wii U version of the game and recorded some gameplay footage of it and then did the same with the Switch version. They look practically identical other than the Wii U version is 720p and Switch version is 1080p (docked), but there's one graphical effect on levels with lava, I guess "hazy effect", and I don't like it. It looks ugly and low-res. Here's a screenshot I saved of it to show an example. It was used in the Wii U version too and I didn't like it there either, I was really hoping they did something about it on Switch. Still, besides that, now one of the nicest looking games on Wii U looks slightly better on Switch (3DS version is no slouch in the graphics department either).

Some of the levels/puzzles are really well thought out and since I hadn't played through this game since 2014/2015, a lot of the puzzles feel fresh to me again. Those Captain Toad stages in Super Mario 3D World were practically just an appetizer for what this game actually offers.

IMO (or maybe better to preface this as possibly "unpopular opinion"), but if you have the option, I might rank the 3DS version as the best way to play this game. I felt the game benefits from the added depth of the 3D effect and I'm finding myself kinda missing that in the Switch version. But if Switch is all you've got, this is still a fun game and I recommend it on any platform you can play it on. The Switch version does have the added co-op mode and some paid DLC that you won't get from the other versions, so it has that going for it too.

DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
17-Jan(#4)
Finished It Takes Two.
If you're at all a fan of co-op platformers, I can't recommend this enough. So well done
EB
Double Gold Good Trader
(frozen)
17-Jan(#5)
Anybody with a Quest 2 play RE4 VR? If so, thoughts on it? I'm looking for a meatier Quest game to check out and I've been on the fence of this one for a while.
nonamesleft
Gold Good Trader
17-Jan(#6)
DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
> Finished It Takes Two.
> If youÂ're at all a fan of co-op platformers, I canÂ't recommend this enough. So well
> done
Friend of mine recently told me about this. He's playing it co-op, said it's a blast.
Kommie
GameTZ Subscriber 250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
17-Jan(#7)
nonamesleft wrote:
> DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
>> Finished It Takes Two.
>> If youÂ're at all a fan of co-op platformers, I canÂ't recommend this enough.
> So well
>> done
> Friend of mine recently told me about this. He's playing it co-op, said it's a blast.

Co op is the only way you can play this, so......


DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
17-Jan(#8)
Yea you can do local split screen or online i think. It starts off a bit basic/nothing special tbh but quickly picks up and stays at high level throughout
Only minor gripe, the difficulty seemed a bit too easy for the final chapter
But one of the most fun gaming experiences i've had overall. I think it's a great one to play with more casual gamers, children, wives/girlfriends etc, really accessible while being challenging enough for the most part
nonamesleft
Gold Good Trader
17-Jan(#9)
Kommie wrote:
> nonamesleft wrote:
>> DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
> |>> Finished It Takes Two.
> |>> If youÃ'Â----'re at all a fan of co-op platformers, I canÃ'Â----'t recommend this enough.
>> So well
> |>> done
>> Friend of mine recently told me about this. He's playing it co-op, said it's
> a blast.
>
> Co op is the only way you can play this, so......
>
>
>
Ah, I didn't know. Makes sense from the title, but I didn't know anything about the game (other than hearing that co-op was a great time)

Recently finished Mario 3D World with 2P. Currently on Cadence of Hyrule. Maybe we'll try It Takes Two next.
nonamesleft
Gold Good Trader
17-Jan(#10)
DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
> Yea you can do local split screen or online i think. It starts off a bit basic/nothing
> special tbh but quickly picks up and stays at high level throughout
> Only minor gripe, the difficulty seemed a bit too easy for the final chapter
> But one of the most fun gaming experiences iÂ've had overall. I think itÂ's a great
> one to play with more casual gamers, children, wives/girlfriends etc, really accessible
> while being challenging enough for the most part
Would you say the experience is worth the current Steam $40 price tag?
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
17-Jan(#11)
I'd say it's well worth it but I also feel like it should be available for less
If you have playstation 4/5 i think it's often on sale
I got it for "free" via EA pass

So, value wise it definitely justifies a full price tag but there's probably a good chance it can be bought for less
nonamesleft
Gold Good Trader
17-Jan(#12)
@DrizzDrizzDrizz

I don't have a PS4/5, so unless it's ported to the Nintendo Switch, it's just PC. So Steam (currently $39.99)
Archer
GameTZ Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 1 Review This user is on the site NOW (2 minutes ago)
17-Jan(#13)
I'm really liking this GTA 3 remaster. I like the way it looks. And that it still plays pretty much exactly the same.
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
18-Jan(#14)
nonamesleft wrote:
> @DrizzDrizzDrizz
>
> I don't have a PS4/5, so unless it's ported to the Nintendo Switch, it's just PC.
> So Steam (currently $39.99)

I say go for it, still worth it. It's about 12-15 hrs length FYI

I beat Ion Fury today, was a blast. If you like 90s FPS, especially Duke 3D, i highly recommend this
If you like any semblance of story, stay away
Heavyd814life
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 600 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13) Secret Santa
18-Jan(#15)
I've put about 10 hours into Dragon Age: Origins in the last 2 days. Still one of the all-time great western RPGs. There's just something about this game that brings me back to it every couple of years. It's systems are a little basic by modern standards and it's definitely pretty clunky on the PS3, but it still holds up reasonably well for a 13 year old game. A complete remake would be amazing because I'd love for a new generation of gamers to experience this masterpiece.

Archer
GameTZ Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 1 Review This user is on the site NOW (2 minutes ago)
19-Jan(#16)
Heavyd814life wrote:
> I've put about 10 hours into Dragon Age: Origins in the last 2 days. Still one of
> the all-time great western RPGs. There's just something about this game that brings
> me back to it every couple of years. It's systems are a little basic by modern standards
> and it's definitely pretty clunky on the PS3, but it still holds up reasonably well
> for a 13 year old game. A complete remake would be amazing because I'd love for a
> new generation of gamers to experience this masterpiece.
>
>

Swooping is bad.
Sun
GameTZ Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (7) Has Written 5 Reviews This user is on the site NOW (7 minutes ago)
19-Jan(#17)
Started and finished A Way Out PlayStation 4 with my brother in a day (5-6 hours). Fun experience.

7.5/10
PizzaTheHutt
GameTZ Subscriber Gold Good Trader Has Written 3 Reviews
22-Jan(#18)
Batman: Arkham Origins {Nintendo Wii U} 7/10
I already knew going in to this game that it was going to be the weakest of the Batman Arkham series of games because that's what everyone seems to say, and having played it now I can see why people think that. But the Batman: Arkham series are really good games, so this being the weakest doesn't mean it's a bad game, it just means it had a high bar set by the previous games and it came up a little short. Having said that, I kind of wish I had chosen to play it on Steam instead (didn't even know I had it until I recently bought a Humble Bundle and decided to look through my unredeemed keys from previously purchased Bundles) because unlike how Batman: Arkham City made effective use of the GamePad at Wii U's launch, this game basically just uses it as a map and not much else. And if you're not going to take advantage of the GamePad, what makes the Wii U version of your game worth playing over the other versions? I know this game was done by a totally different dev team than Batman: Arkham City was, but those devs pretty much laid out how to use the GamePad and I guess these devs didn't feel Wii U was worth investing the extra time it'd take (honestly that probably is how they felt because none of the DLC ever made it to the Wii U version, neither did the multiplayer mode and there are still multiple bugs that didn't get patched, making this version look like an afterthought). Granted, the game does let you use the GamePad for off-TV play, but you will need to use the TV to navigate to the game's option menu to enable that feature every time you play. That's just f'n dumb, isn't it?

For this being a 9 year old game and on Wii U no less, the graphics still look pretty decent. But there were some points where the frame-rate tanks (even in cutscenes and I noticed that in Arkham City on Wii U as well) and there seems to be a lack of anti-aliasing because lookit dem jaggies. While this is basically exactly the same city as the previous game, it does feel like it has a fresh coat of paint with all the snow and some decorations (the game's story takes place on Christmas Eve).

As far as audio, there is something that bugs me about this game that also bugged me about the previous game and it's that when someone (like Alfred for example) is contacting Batman through his earpiece thingy, their voice will only come out through the GamePad speaker while Batman's voice will come out through the TV. If you have the GamePad volume slider all the way down and don't have the closed captioning enabled in the game, you'd never know what they were saying or who Batman was even talking to. The only way to get around that is if you use the Pro Controller (which wasn't an option in Arkham City).

The controls are typical of this series and are fine. And while I've already pointed out that unlike Arkham City this game makes no meaningful use of the GamePad, it does at least support the Wii U's Pro Controller. I have played for an hour or two using the Pro Controller and at times it feels better than the GamePad and I'll probably stick to the Pro Controller for the majority of this playthrough unless I'm playing in off-TV mode. Unfortunately when you are playing using the Pro Controller, the GamePad screen goes totally black and so I can't even prop it up next to the TV or on my desk and view the map while playing with the Pro Controller (that's exactly how I played through The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD, so it's disappointing the developers didn't think to include that feature in this game).

TL;DR while this might be the weakest game of the Arkham series, I don't regret finally playing it. If anything I regret waiting this long to do it. But while not a terrible game on Wii U, you might be better off playing this on any other platform it is available on instead due to missing features on Wii U.

TalonJedi87
Triple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews
22-Jan(#19)
Aliens Fireteam Elite is much better than it should have been. 7/10 Microsoft Xbox Series X|S it is highly repetitious though.
DCGX
GameTZ Subscriber 450 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (11) Has Written 56 Reviews
23-Jan(#20)
PizzaTheHutt wrote:
> Batman: Arkham Origins {Nintendo Wii U} 7/10
> I already knew going in to this game that it was going to be the weakest of the Batman
> Arkham series of games because that's what everyone seems to say, and having played
> it now I can see why people think that. But the Batman: Arkham series are really
> good games, so this being the weakest doesn't mean it's a bad game, it just means
> it had a high bar set by the previous games and it came up a little short. Having
> said that, I kind of wish I had chosen to play it on Steam instead (didn't even know
> I had it until I recently bought a Humble Bundle and decided to look through my unredeemed
> keys from previously purchased Bundles) because unlike how Batman: Arkham City made
> effective use of the GamePad at Wii U's launch, this game basically just uses it
> as a map and not much else. And if you're not going to take advantage of the GamePad,
> what makes the Wii U version of your game worth playing over the other versions?
> I know this game was done by a totally different dev team than Batman: Arkham City
> was, but those devs pretty much laid out how to use the GamePad and I guess these
> devs didn't feel Wii U was worth investing the extra time it'd take (honestly that
> probably is how they felt because none of the DLC ever made it to the Wii U version,
> neither did the multiplayer mode and there are still multiple bugs that didn't get
> patched, making this version look like an afterthought). Granted, the game does let
> you use the GamePad for off-TV play, but you will need to use the TV to navigate
> to the game's option menu to enable that feature every time you play. That's just
> f'n dumb, isn't it?
>
> For this being a 9 year old game and on Wii U no less, the graphics still look pretty
> decent. But there were some points where the frame-rate tanks (even in cutscenes
> and I noticed that in Arkham City on Wii U as well) and there seems to be a lack
> of anti-aliasing because lookit dem jaggies.
> While this is basically exactly the same city as the previous game, it does feel
> like it has a fresh coat of paint with all the snow and some decorations (the game's
> story takes place on Christmas Eve).
>
> As far as audio, there is something that bugs me about this game that also bugged
> me about the previous game and it's that when someone (like Alfred for example) is
> contacting Batman through his earpiece thingy, their voice will only come out through
> the GamePad speaker while Batman's voice will come out through the TV. If you have
> the GamePad volume slider all the way down and don't have the closed captioning enabled
> in the game, you'd never know what they were saying or who Batman was even talking
> to. The only way to get around that is if you use the Pro Controller (which wasn't
> an option in Arkham City).
>
> The controls are typical of this series and are fine. And while I've already pointed
> out that unlike Arkham City this game makes no meaningful use of the GamePad, it
> does at least support the Wii U's Pro Controller. I have played for an hour or two
> using the Pro Controller and at times it feels better than the GamePad and I'll probably
> stick to the Pro Controller for the majority of this playthrough unless I'm playing
> in off-TV mode. Unfortunately when you are playing using the Pro Controller, the
> GamePad screen goes totally black and so I can't even prop it up next to the TV or
> on my desk and view the map while playing with the Pro Controller (that's exactly
> how I played through The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD, so it's disappointing
> the developers didn't think to include that feature in this game).
>
> TL;DR while this might be the weakest game of the Arkham series, I don't regret finally
> playing it. If anything I regret waiting this long to do it. But while not a terrible
> game on Wii U, you might be better off playing this on any other platform it is available
> on instead due to missing features on Wii U.

I played through 'Arkham: Origins' through nVidia's first Shield streaming service (which actually worked well) on my Shield tablet, but picked this up for WiiU a couple of years ago (I think the box art matches the WiiU banner well). I haven't played it yet though. The Deathstroke DLC did come out on WiiU, though. The code in my preowned copy was unused. But I can see how it would be better elsewhere, at least on PC.

PizzaTheHutt
GameTZ Subscriber Gold Good Trader Has Written 3 Reviews
23-Jan(#21)
DCGX wrote:
> I played through 'Arkham: Origins' through nVidia's first Shield streaming service
> (which actually worked well) on my Shield tablet, but picked this up for WiiU a couple
> of years ago (I think the box art matches the WiiU banner well). I haven't played
> it yet though. The Deathstroke DLC did come out on WiiU, though. The code in my preowned
> copy was unused. But I can see how it would be better elsewhere, at least on PC.


Looking into it there was some DLC, skins and challenge pack stuff that was released on day one. Also on day one you could purchase the Season Pass for upcoming DLC on Wii U that would've added to the story, but within 2-3 months they refunded everyone who had bought it and decided not to release it due to the game selling poorly on Wii U.

Side note: I just realized Batman: Arkham Origins' price is $19.99 in the eShop. The previous year's game Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition is still $59.99 for going on 10 years now (there are quite a few other Wii U launch titles that are still at that price in the eShop).
TalonJedi87
Triple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews
23-Jan(#22)
Nobody Saves The World Microsoft Xbox Series X|S
9/10
Might be my new favorite Indie game. It's like Castle Crashers meets Zelda with the ability to form shift. The writing is quite funny too.
benstylus
GameTZ Subscriber GameTZ Full Moderator 550 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 26 Reviews
23-Jan(#23)
100 Classic Book Collection (DS)

The UK version. I bought it because it has quite a number of different books from the US release, 100 Classic Books, which I reviewed 10 years ago
https://m.gametz.com/?A=Reviews;ruid=2670

I just tried a thing tonight - the game allows you to send copies of your free DLC books to others with the game, so I wanted to see of the two versions were cross compatible. Sadly the US and UK versions are not on speaking terms.

I still enjoy it though. I gave it a B- back in the day, and I think I still agree.

nonamesleft
Gold Good Trader
23-Jan(#24)
Kingdom Hearts: Melody of Memory Nintendo Switch

Was ready to start it. Switch out of battery rolls eyes. Idk/10
Kommie
GameTZ Subscriber 250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
23-Jan(#25)
Sounds like a good thing. Kingdom Hearts should be avoided.
nonamesleft
Gold Good Trader
* 23-Jan(#26)
Kommie wrote:
> Sounds like a good thing. Kingdom Hearts should be avoided.
laughing out loud

I actually haven't played a single Kindgom Hearts game, so I have no expectations going in. Though this one is a music based game, so I don't expect it to be like the mainstream games.
nonamesleft
Gold Good Trader
* 25-Jan(#27)
Kingdom Hearts: Melody of Memory Nintendo Switch

The game is a rhythm based game. Similar to the concept of that game Dance Dance Revolution: you hit a button to the beat of the music. But here you don't (usually) need to hit a specific button. L R and A all do the same thing. X is used to hit certain specific targets.

The game isn't that great so far, pretty repetitive, but I'm anyway playing it mainly to hear music from the series, a series from which I've played none of the games, and thus haven't experienced much music of the series.

So far, a couple of the music tracks have Yoko Shimomura's style written all over them. Yoko Shimomura composed the music for all of the Mario & Luigi games, including Legend of the Seven Stars.

I don't know who composed the music for the Kingdom Hearts games, but I'd bet that Shimomura was involved. The style of some of these tracks here is just too similar to her music. In fact, I'd say it is her music. I'd be very surprised if it was someone else. (This game does have music from across the series, so it could easily be that some pieces were composed by her and some not.)
TalonJedi87
Triple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews
25-Jan(#28)
Werewolf The Apocalypse Earthblood- Microsoft Xbox Series X|S 5.5/10
This one is a tough pill to swallow. I keep wanting to like this game because it's janky and reminiscent of Vampyr, but Vampyr did the jank oh so much better to make it look like a AAA game next to this that has you playing as a badass werewolf ripping crap up to metal music, my genre of choice, and yet it just feels so broken and blah at times. The stealth is purely BS at times, the AI is terrible and the combat should feel beefier than it is, which is blatantly redundant. I have 3 levels left so I'll soldier thru to the end against my better judgment but this is going up for sale as soon as I cross that finish like for sure.
Anxiouz
900 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
26-Jan(#29)
I played more of that than I should have. I kept wanting it to be better than it actually was. Putting a werewolf in dull office and warehouse environments was such a waste.
TalonJedi87
Triple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews
* 26-Jan(#30)
Absolutely. It completely neuters the experience of what I'd want oaks imagine it'd be to be a werewolf. Optional stealth? Y tho?
Heavyd814life
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 600 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13) Secret Santa
27-Jan(#31)
I'm about 2 hours into one of @Kommie favorite games, Indigo Prophecy. Totally forgot I had a physical copy of this on the PS4. I haven't played it since it came out in like '05 so I was really curious to see how well it holds up. It's such a bizarre, unique, and awesome experience! Unfortunately, this isn't much of a remaster which is a bummer. It's just a lazy port of the PS2 version. But still, I'm enjoying it. It's a nice trip down memory lane.

Kommie
GameTZ Subscriber 250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
27-Jan(#32)
TalonJedi87
Triple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews
27-Jan(#33)
Heavyd814life wrote:
> I'm about 2 hours into one of @Kommie favorite games, Indigo Prophecy. Totally forgot
> I had a physical copy of this on the PS4. I haven't played it since it came out in
> like '05 so I was really curious to see how well it holds up. It's such a bizarre,
> unique, and awesome experience! Unfortunately, this isn't much of a remaster which
> is a bummer. It's just a lazy port of the PS2 version. But still, I'm enjoying it.
> It's a nice trip down memory lane.
>
>

Indigo Prophecy is still my favorite QD game to date. Such great jank.
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
27-Jan(#34)
It's called Fahrenheit in Europe and I plan on playing it some day, tried for a bit on ps2 ages ago and liked it, not sure why i stopped
Archer
GameTZ Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 1 Review This user is on the site NOW (2 minutes ago)
27-Jan(#35)
That is the only QD game I've never played.
Dasgessabel
350 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally
27-Jan(#36)
TalonJedi87 wrote:
> Werewolf The Apocalypse Earthblood- Microsoft Xbox Series X|S 5.5/10
> This one is a tough pill to swallow. I keep wanting to like this game because it's
> janky and reminiscent of Vampyr, but Vampyr did the jank oh so much better to make
> it look like a AAA game next to this that has you playing as a badass werewolf ripping
> crap up to metal music, my genre of choice, and yet it just feels so broken and blah
> at times. The stealth is purely BS at times, the AI is terrible and the combat should
> feel beefier than it is, which is blatantly redundant. I have 3 levels left so I'll
> soldier thru to the end against my better judgment but this is going up for sale
> as soon as I cross that finish like for sure.

I finished this game and it wasn't so much that it was bad, but that they managed to make heavy metal werewolf carnage boring. How the hell they managed that is beyond me.
Kommie
GameTZ Subscriber 250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
27-Jan(#37)
IIRC, David Cage had himself in the tutorial for Indigo Prophecy explaining how amazing a writer he is and why the game was so ground breaking. I should have known to not play it at that point.
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
27-Jan(#38)
Every few months I get a soft urge to replay Detroit, with different choices.
One day I might do it. You can join me on the quest
benstylus
GameTZ Subscriber GameTZ Full Moderator 550 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (9) Has Written 26 Reviews
27-Jan(#39)
Kommie wrote:
> IIRC, David Cage had himself in the tutorial for Indigo Prophecy explaining how amazing
> a writer he is and why the game was so ground breaking. I should have known to not
> play it at that point.

If he were that good a writer, he would have picked a more exciting pseudonym than David Cage.

Maybe he was trying to insinuate that his writing is as good as Nicholas Cage's acting. If so, then success


Kommie
GameTZ Subscriber 250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
27-Jan(#40)
How dare you compare the One True God to a wanna be auteur writer/director.
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
* 27-Jan(#41)
benstylus wrote:
> Kommie wrote:
>> IIRC, David Cage had himself in the tutorial for Indigo Prophecy explaining how
> amazing
>> a writer he is and why the game was so ground breaking. I should have known to
> not
>> play it at that point.
>
> If he were that good a writer, he would have picked a more exciting pseudonym than
> David Cage.
>
> Maybe he was trying to insinuate that his writing is as good as Nicholas Cage's acting.
> If so, then success
>
>
>

Wait are you absurdly implying Nic Cage isn't a great actor?
Anxiouz
900 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
* 27-Jan(#42)
Was in the mood for some old-school OG God of War-style game tonight and grabbed Castlevania: Lord of Shadows (X360 digital on XSX) for $6. I hit Continue and was on chapter 3 but don't really remember this game much at all.

It's rather good but the controls are clumsy and it's not as smooth playing as Dante's Inferno (which I think is fantastic)...I believe both were around the same timeframe circa 10 years ago. My biggest issue is the quicktime events...not that they exist but that you can hit any face button for 90% of them...but occasionally it's a specific button you need to press out of the blue. That's super cheap.

And this really isn't a Castlevania game. It may have the name but it's wildly out of character for the series.
sinnie
GameTZ Subscriber 600 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Secret Santa
27-Jan(#43)
Put in my PS4 copy of Uncharted collection today, playing through Drake's Fortune and found a game breaking glitch that made me waste the entire day. I may never game again. It's weird because I've beaten this game a few times but never on the PS5. So it might be isolated to that. Still pisses me off.

NightChannels
Has Written 1 Review
(abandoned)
28-Jan(#44)
Monster Hunter Rise (PC)

It's Monster Hunter and it's good. I highly recommend it to people that like to play Monster Hunter.
Sun
GameTZ Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (7) Has Written 5 Reviews This user is on the site NOW (7 minutes ago)
* 28-Jan(#45)
Marvel's Spider-Man: Miles Morales PlayStation 5 - 9/10

This was great and improved upon the things that sucked about the previous game. Story was great, music and sound design, and Miles' abilities were awesome.
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
28-Jan(#46)
Sun wrote:
> Marvel's Spider-Man: Miles Morales PlayStation 5 - 9/10
>
> This was great and improved upon the things that sucked about the previous game.
> Story was great, music and sound design, and Miles' abilities were awesome.

What did you think sucked in the original that was better here, just curious? I played both back to back and it felt like an extension/almost DLC, really loved them both
Appreciated the length of MM too, i'm a sucker for that 10-15 hour sweet spot
Scott
GameTZ Subscriber 250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Has Written 2 Reviews
28-Jan(#47)
Yeah, I haven't played MM yet, but I'm curious what you thought sucked in the original but was improved.
Gypsy
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally This user is on the site NOW (45 seconds ago) Secret Santa
28-Jan(#48)
sinnie wrote:
> Put in my PS4 copy of Uncharted collection today, playing through Drake's Fortune
> and found a game breaking glitch that made me waste the entire day. I may never game
> again. It's weird because I've beaten this game a few times but never on the PS5.
> So it might be isolated to that. Still pisses me off.
>
>

I played through them all again on PS4 and didn't encounter a glitch so maybe it is just on PS5. That really sucks.
Heavyd814life
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 600 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13) Secret Santa
28-Jan(#49)
TalonJedi87 wrote:
> Heavyd814life wrote:
>> I'm about 2 hours into one of @Kommie favorite games, Indigo Prophecy. Totally
> forgot
>> I had a physical copy of this on the PS4. I haven't played it since it came out
> in
>> like '05 so I was really curious to see how well it holds up. It's such a bizarre,
>> unique, and awesome experience! Unfortunately, this isn't much of a remaster which
>> is a bummer. It's just a lazy port of the PS2 version. But still, I'm enjoying
> it.
>> It's a nice trip down memory lane.
>>
>>
>
> Indigo Prophecy is still my favorite QD game to date. Such great jank.

Crazy thing is that I don't remember Indigo Prophecy being that janky. I just remember being blown away at the time because I'd never played anything like it. But replaying it now...holy mother of jank lol. I totally forgot about the camera and how obnoxious the QTEs are. But man, I'm loving every second of it! Nostalgia is so powerful but yeah, if I'm being completely objective, it's one of those games you have to approach understanding that it's an older, kinda experimental game so it's definitely rough around the edges.

@Archer and @DrizzDrizzDrizz I think you guys would dig it. It's a 15-year-old game so it's a bit rough compared to Heavy Rain, Beyond, and Detroit (really wish Quantic Dream had at least remastered it), but there's so much to love if you enjoyed the other Quantic Dream games since this is the one that laid the foundation for those games.

sinnie
GameTZ Subscriber 600 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Secret Santa
28-Jan(#50)
Gypsy wrote:
> sinnie wrote:
>> Put in my PS4 copy of Uncharted collection today, playing through Drake's Fortune
>> and found a game breaking glitch that made me waste the entire day. I may never
> game
>> again. It's weird because I've beaten this game a few times but never on the PS5.
>> So it might be isolated to that. Still pisses me off.
>>
>>
>
> I played through them all again on PS4 and didn't encounter a glitch so maybe it
> is just on PS5. That really sucks.

Yes I've played through twice on PS4 so it must just be PS5. Arggh I was 50% through. Oh well onto Uncharted 2 I guess.

Sun
GameTZ Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (7) Has Written 5 Reviews This user is on the site NOW (7 minutes ago)
* 28-Jan(#51)
DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
> What did you think sucked in the original that was better here, just curious? I played
> both back to back and it felt like an extension/almost DLC, really loved them both
> Appreciated the length of MM too, i'm a sucker for that 10-15 hour sweet spot


Scott wrote:
> Yeah, I haven't played MM yet, but I'm curious what you thought sucked in the original
> but was improved.


Pretty much doing away with the repetitive nature of the neighborhood crimes to get 100% district completions. By making them unique and relegated to the Spidey app, my OCDness didn't have to worry about them like in the original.
Scott
GameTZ Subscriber 250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Has Written 2 Reviews
29-Jan(#52)
Sun wrote:
> Scott wrote:
>> Yeah, I haven't played MM yet, but I'm curious what you thought sucked in the
> original
>> but was improved.
>
> Pretty much doing away with the repetitive nature of the neighborhood crimes to get
> 100% district completions. By making them unique and relegated to the Spidey app,
> my OCDness didn't have to worry about them like in the original.

Wow, that's great! The crimes were basically the only thing I didn't like about the first one.
kevolones
250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
29-Jan(#53)
Anxiouz wrote:
> Was in the mood for some old-school OG God of War-style game tonight and grabbed
> Castlevania: Lord of Shadows (X360 digital on XSX) for $6. I hit Continue and
> was on chapter 3 but don't really remember this game much at all.
>
> It's rather good but the controls are clumsy and it's not as smooth playing as Dante's
> Inferno (which I think is fantastic)...I believe both were around the same timeframe
> circa 10 years ago. My biggest issue is the quicktime events...not that they exist
> but that you can hit any face button for 90% of them...but occasionally it's a specific
> button you need to press out of the blue. That's super cheap.
>
> And this really isn't a Castlevania game. It may have the name but it's wildly out
> of character for the series.

Lords of Shadow is pretty great.
Kommie
GameTZ Subscriber 250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
29-Jan(#54)
Lords of Shadow 2 was not great
Heavyd814life
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 600 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13) Secret Santa
29-Jan(#55)
Lords of Shadow 2 was a train wreck. One of the worst sequels of all time.

Kommie
GameTZ Subscriber 250 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
29-Jan(#56)
Heavyd814life wrote:
> Lords of Shadow 2 was a train wreck. One of the worst sequels of all time.
>
>

Wow, something we agree on!
TalonJedi87
Triple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews
29-Jan(#57)
Lords of Shadow 2 was a great Dracula game. Just not a very good Castlevania game.
DarkFact
GameTZ Subscriber 400 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews This user is on the site NOW (2 minutes ago)
29-Jan(#58)
Think I stopped playing pretty close to the mousey bits.

Other than that, I liked em both okay otherwise. Just sorta felt like they were new games in the same mythos, and I liked the little twist.
EB
Double Gold Good Trader
(frozen)
29-Jan(#59)
Been playing this 3D action platformer called Blue Fire. Anybody played it? It has some minor jankiness but I'm absolutely loving it. So much fun and they nailed the platform long for the most part.
TalonJedi87
Triple Gold Good Trader Has Written 4 Reviews
29-Jan(#60)
My goodness, Death's Door Microsoft Xbox Series X|S is the Diablo/Zelda dungeon crawler with Souls elements I didn't know I needed. - 8/10 so far. Go Game Pass!
PizzaTheHutt
GameTZ Subscriber Gold Good Trader Has Written 3 Reviews
29-Jan(#61)
Resident Evil 5 {Nintendo Switch} 8/10
I bought this for a friend that had never played a Resident Evil game before. I didn't bother to explain that this is Resident Evil in name only, because that's irrelevant to someone that has never played the series before and we were just looking for a good co-op game anyway and this game delivers on that part at least.

The game looks good in handheld mode (well, maybe as good as a game from 2009 can look in 2022) and I like the option of being able to use gyro aiming. So now I own this game across Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, Steam and now Switch, and with it having gyro aiming support plus the ability to play it on the go, as far as I'm concerned this is now the definitive version of RE5. My main issue with the game is the load times. They're not super long, it's just that they are a little too frequent (and that's certainly not exclusive to the Switch version).

Anyway, my opinion of this game is still the same as it always was since 2009. Is it a bad Resident Evil game? Yeah, maybe. But is it a bad game overall? No and you won't get me to say otherwise, and I wouldn't keep re-buying it across as many platforms as I have (and I'll only stop when I've run out of people to play it with).

Heavyd814life
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 600 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13) Secret Santa
29-Jan(#62)
PizzaTheHutt wrote:
> Resident Evil 5 {Nintendo Switch} 8/10
> I bought this for a friend that had never played a Resident Evil game before. I didn't
> bother to explain that this is Resident Evil in name only, because that's irrelevant
> to someone that has never played the series before and we were just looking for a
> good co-op game anyway and this game delivers on that part at least.
>
> The game looks good in handheld mode (well, maybe as good as a game from 2009 can
> look in 2022) and I like the option of being able to use gyro aiming. So now I own
> this game across Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, Steam and now Switch, and with it having
> gyro aiming support plus the ability to play it on the go, as far as I'm concerned
> this is now the definitive version of RE5. My main issue with the game is the load
> times. They're not super long, it's just that they are a little too frequent (and
> that's certainly not exclusive to the Switch version).
>
> Anyway, my opinion of this game is still the same as it always was since 2009. Is
> it a bad Resident Evil game? Yeah, maybe. But is it a bad game overall? No and you
> won't get me to say otherwise, and I wouldn't keep re-buying it across as many platforms
> as I have (and I'll only stop when I've run out of people to play it with).
>
>

Yeah, it's not a bad game at all if you just try not to think of it as an RE game. Same thing with RE6. Terrible RE game, but a very solid action game.

Sun
GameTZ Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (7) Has Written 5 Reviews This user is on the site NOW (7 minutes ago)
29-Jan(#63)
I have yet to play RE6, RE7, Village, RE2make or RE3make. All on the backlog.

Just got Life is Strange: True Colors from the library so going to play that next. I just finished Miles Morales.
d3vanj
Triple Gold Good Trader
* 30-Jan(#64)
Ready or Not Steam Early Access 8/10

Well, I almost never play with M+KB, but this game is worth it. Got it last night and played for a few hours with friends. It's a squad-based tactical game, multiplayer but not PvP (like Ghost Recon Wildlands before the multiplayer release). Unforgiving, pretty realistic, great physics/ballistics, cool maps, and more content being released frequently as they work through early access to finish the game. Runs super smooth for an early access too, I was around 80FPS with all graphic settings and resolution scaling maxed out.

Frozyre
GameTZ Subscriber Quadruple Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Has Written 3 Reviews
(restricted)
30-Jan(#65)
Armored Head Steam 10/10

This is an arena shooter that puts you in the role of an android machine that is nameless. You are to survive 30 waves and you win the golden trophy just for surviving. But there's a little more to it than that and you just have to feel the game as you play it to understand. This game is really a hidden gem that can be overlooked and waved off as just another FPS. Though I feel it does deserve to be looked at because it looks visually well done and it's gameplay is incredibly fun. The weaponry in the game is a little overpowering, lol. When you get a hold of the Howitzer weapon in later waves, you'll see what I mean. Just a total wave cleanser. The wave bosses, which there are three, are tense and enjoyable to fight that give you a challenge. Armored Head can surprise you at times when you think it's easy by blowing over the first 10 waves, it gets a little harder and there is a difficulty switch for challengers.

But I fell in love with this game and it's very rare that a game gets me to even go through it's achievements, but Armored Head did it. It goes on sale for as low as $1.64 (currently as I type this) but it costs $3 when not on sale. Worth every penny for what you get out of it. Underrated gem.
Heavyd814life
GameTZ Gold Subscriber 600 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (13) Secret Santa
1-Feb(#66)
Currently replaying Dragon Age: Inquisition. I remember being completely obsessed with this game at launch, but I don't remember much about it outside of a few story beats and the big reveal towards the end. I've wanted to replay it for a while now with a female Inquisitor and now seems as good a time as any with DA4 (hopefully) on the horizon.

I'm on a bit of a BioWare binge atm. Just finished the Awakening expansion for Dragon Age: Origins which is still a solid piece of DLC. I also messed around with KOTOR on the Switch for an hour or so (very solid port) but I'll wait for the remake before playing through it again. I think I'll replay Jade Empire next. I have really fond memories of that game so it'll be interesting to see how well it holds up.

DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
1-Feb(#67)
Finally finished AC Valhalla. I wont miss it too much but definitely enjoyed the last 10 hrs or so more than the previous like 70-80
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
1-Feb(#68)
Oh also I got a Quest 2 today and initial thoughts:

- it's really great, compared to PSVR much crisper/clearer graphics and the tracking is so much better
- the headset feels kinda heavy and tight but I might need to adjust it more
- I honestly didn't do much research on this part but I expected the games library to be much bigger, lotta VR games I know and assumed were on Quest aren't on there
- i paid for one game so far, Eleven Table Tennis, and it's incredible, feels so real
- the facebook account thing is annoying
Anxiouz
900 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
1-Feb(#69)
DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
> Finally finished AC Valhalla.

Can I ask what level you were by the end? It feels that even after 30-40 hours I'm only about halfway to where I may need to be.
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
1-Feb(#70)
I was about 340ish by the very end

I spent some time earlier on doing more side stuff and going out of my way to collect things (not fully but if something was kinda on the way or nearby), then had a longer stretch of only doing main quest and whatever was directly on my path, and then at the end i did some "cleanup" but only for finishing the Order quests and doing Asgard/Joten-something

It felt like i leveled up (2 skill points) all the time, started running out of skills i actually wanted to upgrade on the board
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
1-Feb(#71)
Oh and time wise I finished at around 105 hrs, maybe realistically 100 or so because I occasionally left it on

I can easily see that it could take another 100 to collect everything though, but I'm not doing that, definitely done with it
DCGX
GameTZ Subscriber 450 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (11) Has Written 56 Reviews
2-Feb(#72)
DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
> Oh also I got a Quest 2 today and initial thoughts:
> - the facebook account thing is annoying

Quest 2 is so inviting, but this really worries me going forward. I just get the feeling the whole platform will be nothing but ads sooner or later. Plus, I don't have a Facebook account and really, really don't want one. Even the dummy one I used to have to follow indie devs didn't sit right with me.

brian9824
500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader
2-Feb(#73)
Shin Megami Tensei V - 7.5/10 - Started out really good but by about 80% thru i just wasn't feeling it. Ended up turning the difficulty down to casual just to power thru and finish it. Lots of great touches but the map turned me off from the game quite a bit. Navigation wasn't fun with having to find very specific paths to reach so many objectives, and bosses requiring very precise skills as well as a story that got pretty crazy and nonsensical, even for a SMT game...
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
2-Feb(#74)
DCGX wrote:
> DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
>> Oh also I got a Quest 2 today and initial thoughts:
>> - the facebook account thing is annoying
>
> Quest 2 is so inviting, but this really worries me going forward. I just get the
> feeling the whole platform will be nothing but ads sooner or later. Plus, I don't
> have a Facebook account and really, really don't want one. Even the dummy one I used
> to have to follow indie devs didn't sit right with me.
>
>

Yeah for now I don't really notice it tbh, i turned off most of the social aspects because I don't need the FB integration, i havent seen ads (except when i tried youtube vr app i had a 1.5 min ad i couldn't skip!? That was odd/annoying) but who knows

I definitely think it shouldn't keep you from jumping into oculus quest 2 though, i'm so happy with the purchase overall

Discovered the sidequest/app lab stuff too so there's a lot more options than I thought,
Mostly indie or alpha/beta stuff but i picked up a really great tennis game, oculus store itself had none
DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
2-Feb(#75)
Ok i just played a few ranked matches online of Eleven table tennis on Oculus VR, and this is truly a gamechanger for me.
The immersion is incredible, I literally almost placed my "racket" on the virtual table after finishing, like I would in real life, caught myself just before dropping them on the ground haha

It's so, so good. I just need to find a way to make the headset more comfortable, maybe i need to buy the elite strap but i cant find it anywhere locally
Slickriven
GameTZ Subscriber Double Gold Good Trader Has Written 1 Review
* 2-Feb(#76)
Been playing Outriders lately, enjoying it but it's not perfect. As a big fan of The Division, Outriders feels pretty good as aside from much smaller map areas and much more linear focus it does feel like the Div.
The skills are pretty cool and it aped a lot of features/ideas from Ubisoft's series/the genre overall.
Voice work is pretty good, it's a pretty game but has some pop-in, missions get a little repetitive and most of the attempts at humor, in the dialog, fall flat. I've been looking for and collecting all of the crap, but since much of it is stuff to read, I just don't care and while I'm doing the side missions I mainly just want to complete the game and don't really care about the backstory/lore.
It's fairly dead though as each of the times I've played in the last week+ there's only been around 3-7 other users playing at the same time according to the one label in the lobby, sort of sad but I'm not overly surprised.

razeak
Double Gold Good Trader Has Written 9 Reviews
2-Feb(#77)
Lego Jurassic World 8/10
Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis 8/10
Jurassic Park: Rampage Edition 6/10
Jurassic World: Evolution 7.5/10
Monster Jam 2 7/10
Conan Exiles 9/10
The Forest 8.5/10
Super Mario 3D World 10
Aliens: Fireteam 7/10
Predator Hunting Grounds 7.5/10
DCGX
GameTZ Subscriber 450 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (11) Has Written 56 Reviews
2-Feb(#78)
DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
> DCGX wrote:
>> DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
> |>> Oh also I got a Quest 2 today and initial thoughts:
> |>> - the facebook account thing is annoying
>>
>> Quest 2 is so inviting, but this really worries me going forward. I just get the
>> feeling the whole platform will be nothing but ads sooner or later. Plus, I don't
>> have a Facebook account and really, really don't want one. Even the dummy one
> I used
>> to have to follow indie devs didn't sit right with me.
>>
>>
>
> Yeah for now I don't really notice it tbh, i turned off most of the social aspects
> because I don't need the FB integration, i havent seen ads (except when i tried youtube
> vr app i had a 1.5 min ad i couldn't skip!? That was odd/annoying) but who knows
>
> I definitely think it shouldn't keep you from jumping into oculus quest 2 though,
> i'm so happy with the purchase overall
>
> Discovered the sidequest/app lab stuff too so there's a lot more options than I thought,
> Mostly indie or alpha/beta stuff but i picked up a really great tennis game, oculus
> store itself had none

I'd rather just not get involved in anything Facebook if I can help it. I have PSVR, and will get PSVR2 whenever that and a redesign of the PS5 hits.

DrizzDrizzDrizz
Double Gold Good Trader Global Trader - willing to trade internationally Croatia
2-Feb(#79)
DCGX wrote:
> DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
>> DCGX wrote:
> |>> DrizzDrizzDrizz wrote:
>> |>> Oh also I got a Quest 2 today and initial thoughts:
>> |>> - the facebook account thing is annoying
> |>>
> |>> Quest 2 is so inviting, but this really worries me going forward. I just get
> the
> |>> feeling the whole platform will be nothing but ads sooner or later. Plus, I don't
> |>> have a Facebook account and really, really don't want one. Even the dummy one
>> I used
> |>> to have to follow indie devs didn't sit right with me.
> |>>
> |>>
>>
>> Yeah for now I don't really notice it tbh, i turned off most of the social aspects
>> because I don't need the FB integration, i havent seen ads (except when i tried
> youtube
>> vr app i had a 1.5 min ad i couldn't skip!? That was odd/annoying) but who knows
>>
>> I definitely think it shouldn't keep you from jumping into oculus quest 2 though,
>> i'm so happy with the purchase overall
>>
>> Discovered the sidequest/app lab stuff too so there's a lot more options than
> I thought,
>> Mostly indie or alpha/beta stuff but i picked up a really great tennis game, oculus
>> store itself had none
>
> I'd rather just not get involved in anything Facebook if I can help it. I have PSVR,
> and will get PSVR2 whenever that and a redesign of the PS5 hits.
>
>

Understandable, I was in the same boat until a few days ago when I decided to just go for it.
But the difference compared to PSVR (which I also love) is really big - the tracking and easy pop on and play aspect especially, but also the graphics are a notable step up. PSVR always was kind of a chore to set up and play, this is just so seamless. I urge you to reconsider if you dig VR lol
Sun
GameTZ Subscriber 500 Trade Quintuple Gold Good Trader Gold Global Trader (7) Has Written 5 Reviews This user is on the site NOW (7 minutes ago)
2-Feb(#80)
I'm hoping PSVR 2 is on par or better than the Oculus Quest 2.

Topic   Post your scores/reviews on recent titles you've obtained/been playing. raspberry