Pros and Cons

  • Seven CD set also includes select commercials
  • Includes some of the 1980's biggest hits
  • 84 full length songs from the eras biggest stars
  • Each CD offers a unique cheat code for the game
  • Includes song that was later deleted from game
  • Many great songs from the game are missing

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Original Soundtrack Box Set (Various)

Reviewed by:
Reviewed on:


GTA Vice City OST features 84 of the 1980's best songs from the decades biggest stars, including Michael Jackson, Ozzy Osbourne, Luther Vandross, Blondie, and Lionel Richie, just to name a few. Each CD also contains a selection of commercials.



Grand Theft Auto Vice City Official Soundtrack Box Set is one, if not the best videogame soundtrack ever released. The seven disc set includes 84 of the best songs the 1980's has to offer. The soundtrack is packed with the biggest stars of the decade, including artists like Michael Jackson, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Motley Crue, Ozzie Osbourne, Megadeth, Foreigner, REO Speedwagon, Luther Vandross, Bryan Adams, Lionel Richie, Hall & Oates, INXS, Blondie, Rick James, Run DMC, Whodini, Kool & the Gang, Tears For Fears, Frankie Goes To Hollywood and many, many more.

With this kind of star-studded music there is sure to be something for everyone, each cd offers a different style of music. The radio stations are: V-Rock, Emotion 98.3, Flash FM, Wave 103, Fever 105, Wildstyle and Espantoso. So whether you're looking to rock out with your cock out, trying to seduce that special someone, jam to your favorite rap songs or just relax and listen to some new wave or pop songs this soundtrack has everything you'd want to mix up your playlist.

The songs on the CDs aren't b-sides or songs lost in time either, they're the biggest songs by the artist. Some of the best songs include: Billie Jean, Self Control, Bark at the Moon, Atomic, Two Tribes, (I Just) Died In Your Arms, Broken Wings, Owner of a Lonely Heart, Rock Box, Magic's Wand, Wanna Be Startin' Somethin', Ghetto Life, Call Me, Dance Hall Days, 99 Luftballons, Pale Selter, and the rare Running With The Night. The reason that song is now rare is because after Vice City was released Lionel Richie decided he didn't want his songs in the violent GTA games so R* had to delete his song from future copies of the game. Now the only way to hear this song is if you own an original copy of the game or have the soundtrack.

Another great benefit to this box set is the inclusion of some of the game's commercials. Anybody who has played the GTA games know that the commercials are very funny and well written. Each CD has two commercials from the radio stations and also includes some commentary from the DJ. Each disc also includes some random talk from the DJ in the hidden track at the end of the disc, some of them are funny and others not worth listening to.

The only bad thing about the box set is that some of the great songs from the game aren't included on the official soundtrack, each radio station has a few songs that didn't make it into the CDs. For example the songs Video Killed The Radio Star, Cars, and Last Night A DJ Saved My Life didn't make it into the box set. There are a handful of great songs that should have been included but weren't, I will never understand why some songs didn't make the cut.

Overall this box set is definitely worth buying, it has great artwork, excellent songs and the biggest names in music. Just one playthrough of each album will give you dozens of hours of enjoyment. Regardless of what type of music you like this soundtrack has something for everyone.

Review Page Hits: 0 today (213 total)